Windows Vista Black Screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2010, 05:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Windows Vista Black Screen

Hey guys I'm starting to get the black screen, it loads to the point of the login screen where i can put my user password but it dosent get there and it just stays black.

Do you guys know of any simple solutions? Also, seems like the "last known good configuration" button works out well, but do I loose any data ? It says it restores computer back to a good point.. Would that mean yesterday when it was running fine?

If this is in the wrong forum move if you would like I haven't used these forums in almost a year.

THANKS
__________________

__________________
Gaming PC Build:

NZXT Phantom | Intel i5-3570k 3.4Ghz | Asus P8Z77-V | CoolerMaster V6 GT | Ripjaws
8GB 1600mhz | EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2GB | Corsair HX750 Watt |SB 1.5TBHDD
7200 RPM+WD 500GB 7200RPM | OCZ Vetex 3 120GB SSD | Lite-On 24x Reader/Writer/Burner Drive |
Razer Naga MMO Gaming Mouse | Razer Lycosa Gaming Mouse | Logitech G930 Gaming Headset
iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 10-06-2010, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Windows Vista Black Screen

Last known config is aq system restore basically, You shouldn't lose data, but will loose settings etc, so yes, Yesterday or last week.

Its possible a bad update, or worse virus got in.

But, to sum it up, I'd give it a go.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-06-2010, 06:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Windows Vista Black Screen

It could be a few things. Run the Vista Setup program, it has a basic repair tool for start-up problems. It also has a tool to check for memory problems. Or you can download Memtest to check your memory.
Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool

Look and see if Windows has installed any new updates, sometimes they can cause a driver conflict.

It could also be your hard drive. You can go to the manufacturers website and download a diagnostic program for the hard drive, usually.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black screen instead of desktop after virus - Vista 32 weewun Microsoft Windows and Software 8 02-08-2010 06:59 PM
Vista screen goes black bentobaku Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 08-28-2009 06:10 PM
Vista black screen with cursor carnageX Microsoft Windows and Software 11 10-26-2008 02:27 PM
After windows loading bar, black screen lancec2c30 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-04-2007 05:51 PM
Black screen after Windows XP logo? MyF355Spider Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-06-2006 09:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.