Windows restarts on start up! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2006, 07:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Exclamation Windows restarts on start up!

hi, this morning i tried startin up windows as usual but came across an error as the computer restarted after 5 seconds on the desktop.i hav dun a few things to over come this such as a disk check, spyware check, turned off automatic restart to check the error message for sum help (wasn't very useful), checked to find msblaster. At the moment i am on safe mode with networkin which i dont understand how it works as it is practically the same as a normally start up. One thing i can't do is a repair install coz my xp snapped lol. and one thing i havnt dun is check my bios or sumtin as this is one of the things the error message told me to do but i dont no what to do wid dat, as i dont no how to access them. So please can sum1 help me please.
skaterdude_04
__________________

skaterdude_04 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 11:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Can you boot up into SAFE MODE?

Press F8 shortly after the POST check
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 03:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Default

yes i can i start up into safe mode and safe mode with networking. hey there in australia from britain.
skaterdude_04 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Default Run scan

Please go to this site http://www.mypccenter.com - run a full scan and post the report link here - it will show all hardware/software information and will help finding the reason for your problem.
Blake22 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 01:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18
Default

http://www.mypccenter.com/detailed_p...6915B270390F8D
skaterdude_04 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 12:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Default

From looking on your report I see that you have one disk with only 1GB free - you might have even less because I think you run in safe mode which uses less disk space and memory.

Windows goes out crazy when you run out of space on the system drive.

You also have Lime-wire running which is abusing your computer and your network connection.

LimeWire.exe
LimeWire
Lime Wire- LLC
26752 Kb
69872 Kb
57675
143.667 Sec
104.761 Sec
38.906 Sec
24
1318
68073434 b
19819387 b


You should clean your C Drive and uninstall lime wire - then run the test again on www.mypccenter.com and we can take it from there.
__________________

Blake22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.