windows messed up in need of reformat help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2008, 05:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to jesseunvoas
Default Re: windows messed up in need of reformat help

well i tried to reformat but my windows disk tells me that my version is already too old what the **** windows and now i get this icon telling me ive got a counterfited version what should i do?
__________________

jesseunvoas is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 05:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to jesseunvoas
Default Re: windows messed up in need of reformat help

Setup cannot continue because the version of Windows on your computer is newer than the version on the CD.

Warning: If you decide to delete the newer version of Windows that is currently installed on your computer, the files and settings cannot be recovered.

sure i will delete my whole computer if needed i just want it fixed
__________________

jesseunvoas is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 09:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: windows messed up in need of reformat help

Formatting erases the disk/partition you format. It you only have a single disk or partition, formatting it will erase everything. If your data and files are on a separate drive/partition, you are good to go. If you are not sure, STOP and find out.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-27-2008, 09:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: windows messed up in need of reformat help

As trotter said, a format will remove all data from that disk / partition. If you are unsure ask for help and use google to find out what your doing.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 08:27 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to jesseunvoas
Default Re: windows messed up in need of reformat help

yeah the drives are seperate but when i tried to format the screen telling me that ive got a too old of a version came up and now ive lost my wireless and my dvd drive
jesseunvoas is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 09:35 AM   #16 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: windows messed up in need of reformat help

Format the Windows drive, install the one you have, and then update it. You will have to download and install the drivers for yuor stuff, like motherboard, wireless, etc.

As long as your stuff is on a separate drive it will be safe.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 08:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to jesseunvoas
Default Re: windows messed up in need of reformat help

ok thanks and for some reason my dvd drive and wireless all came back just now so i can get a newer version with sp2 and try again
jesseunvoas is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 05:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Send a message via MSN to jesseunvoas
Default Re: windows messed up in need of reformat help

ok i got the oem windows xp and ran it but when i restart it asks me if i want to start windows home or windows pro as well as i no longer have the standby selection when turning off my computer
and finally what is needed to access my 2nd hard drive i still have my primary one but i want my secondary one with my movies and music
__________________

jesseunvoas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Edition Troubles ChemicalMonkey Microsoft Windows and Software 34 01-20-2008 09:26 PM
Download Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Beta Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 0 10-14-2007 11:57 AM
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Disk needed to reformat windows nerves Microsoft Windows and Software 14 04-30-2007 10:15 PM
Windows Reformat nerves Microsoft Windows and Software 9 04-30-2007 01:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.