Windows detecting HD capacity... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2005, 12:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default Windows detecting HD capacity...

Hi !
I just bought a 160ghz hd but my windowsXP seems to not detect the full capacity,it only detectes 130ghz.
I made a partition of 15ghz on it,and it says on the other part 114ghz left...I was told by a friend that it would do that but he dont know if theres a way to make windows read the missing 30ghz..so is there a way?:beard:
__________________

mal is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 01:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

By ghz do you mean GB?

I do know that sometimes when companies say 80 gigabytes, they really mean 80 billion bytes and since there is 1024 bytes in a gigabyte it makes a difference. However, that only accounts for 10 missing gigabytes... weird.

What kind of hard drive is it? Do you have a link we can look at?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 01:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

Its the BIOS, its limiting what can be read, or the IDE controller chipset, usually its the BIOS though.Intel has a whole set of old mobos with chipsets good for 120GB's but the BIOS has em cutoff at 8.4GB max.Planned obsolescence.

Long ago they went in stages of limits----2GB,8.4GB, 120GB,134GB, and now who knows?
horndude is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 02:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Default

He probably doesn't have Service Pack 1 installed.
__________________
Pentium4 3.0C Ghz CPU 800FSB
Zalman CNPS7000A-Cu CPU cooler
Enlight 420 Watt ATX Power Supply
ASUS P4P800 SE Motherboard (Intel 865PE chipset)
2x 512MB Crucial PC3200 DDR SDRAM
eVGA Nvidia 128MB e-Geforce 6600GT 8x AGP
WD 74GB Raptor SATA HD (10,000 RPM)
NEC 16x DVD +/- R/RW Writer
NEC 16x DVD-ROM
MyHD 120 PCI HDTV tuner card
Apacer embedded 6in1 card reader
4 Cooler Master 80mm case fans
Vantec HD cooler
Viewsonic P810 21\" CRT monitor
Windows XP Pro Service Pack 1
Dean66 is offline  
Old 06-02-2005, 04:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by horndude
Its the BIOS, its limiting what can be read, or the IDE controller chipset, usually its the BIOS though.Intel has a whole set of old mobos with chipsets good for 120GB's but the BIOS has em cutoff at 8.4GB max.Planned obsolescence.

Long ago they went in stages of limits----2GB,8.4GB, 120GB,134GB, and now who knows?
I agree with horndudes statement. Double check your BIOS settings, hopefully you can adjust what can be read.
lithium is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
mal
True Techie
 
mal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179
Default

thx for replies:P
but i checked bios and updated all what i could and it still the same-its not a big deal i just hope i wont get any errors if i ever load my HD more than 130:P

--dean66 (lol) to not have at least sp1 is almost impossible nowadays you can't go far without it..
__________________

mal is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.