Windows 95 boot up problem ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2004, 10:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3
Default Windows 95 boot up problem ?

Hi there,

recently I changed the resolution to a higher one in windows 95 and the screen just went all flickery green and I couldnt see anything to change it back to the resolution I initially had it on.

So

I re-booted hoping it would re-set it back to the other resolution size but it didnt and I couldnt see anything clear enough to change it.

I then wanted to try and re-set and boot up in safe mode by pressing F8 on load. But this time the computer didnt get past the second screen. The first screen shows the memory size etc then the next one shows the disk drives etc and it stays on that. I cant get passed that to load Windows 95.


Does anyone know what the problem could be and how I can resolve this ??
__________________

Eternal Student is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 12:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

The problem is the higher resolution, the PC and monitor aren't on the same page so you get that jumbled garbage when trying to work on the computer.

As far as rebooting goes, you didn't do nothing wrong there, the way you fix this is to boot into safe mode and change the resolution.


BUT!! If you aren't getting past the POST test (The Power On Selft Test, that the computer runs everytime you turn it on) It could be a couple of things.

Just for the heck of it, make sure all of your cables aren't loose.

Do you hear any beeps when the computer is booting?

...try it again,

Let us know how it goes and we'll take it from there.




Also, this might belong in the OS/Software forum.
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3
Default

OK, the cables are all ok and not loose.


There is a beep.


I made a boot disk but after trying all of the options (after pressing F8) all I can get is a dos prompt. No entry to windows !!


need some expert advice here.
Eternal Student is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 12:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Also I tried a different monitor (my decent one) and it still gave me the same dilema. Although I didnt have the boot disk at that stage (would that make a difference?)
Eternal Student is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.