Windows 95 boot up problem ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2004, 09:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3
Default Windows 95 boot up problem ?

Hi there,

recently I changed the resolution to a higher one in windows 95 and the screen just went all flickery green and I couldnt see anything to change it back to the resolution I initially had it on.


I re-booted hoping it would re-set it back to the other resolution size but it didnt and I couldnt see anything clear enough to change it.

I then wanted to try and re-set and boot up in safe mode by pressing F8 on load. But this time the computer didnt get past the second screen. The first screen shows the memory size etc then the next one shows the disk drives etc and it stays on that. I cant get passed that to load Windows 95.

Does anyone know what the problem could be and how I can resolve this ??

Eternal Student is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 11:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
HoLoCroN's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305

The problem is the higher resolution, the PC and monitor aren't on the same page so you get that jumbled garbage when trying to work on the computer.

As far as rebooting goes, you didn't do nothing wrong there, the way you fix this is to boot into safe mode and change the resolution.

BUT!! If you aren't getting past the POST test (The Power On Selft Test, that the computer runs everytime you turn it on) It could be a couple of things.

Just for the heck of it, make sure all of your cables aren't loose.

Do you hear any beeps when the computer is booting?

...try it again,

Let us know how it goes and we'll take it from there.

Also, this might belong in the OS/Software forum.

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 11:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3

OK, the cables are all ok and not loose.

There is a beep.

I made a boot disk but after trying all of the options (after pressing F8) all I can get is a dos prompt. No entry to windows !!

need some expert advice here.
Eternal Student is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 11:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3

Also I tried a different monitor (my decent one) and it still gave me the same dilema. Although I didnt have the boot disk at that stage (would that make a difference?)
Eternal Student is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.