Winchester or Newcastle? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2005, 03:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 79
Default Winchester or Newcastle?

I've been eyeing the AMD Athlon64 3500+, and now there are two, Winchester and Newcastle. The specs appear the same, but one is $100 or so more than the other. What gives? What makes one more than the other? I think the Newcastle was the more expensive, but I'm not sure.
__________________

Oceanb0rn is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 03:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

The Winchester uses 90nm technology and should be more expensive. It runs cooler so its better for overclocking.

The Newcaste uses 130nm manufacturing process.

Make sure your motherboard supports the 90nm (Winchester) version because some of them don't without a BIOS flash!!! You have to flash the BIOS before you can use the CPU. So you will need another CPU to flash it. I am sure some guys can tell you if it will work.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 03:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Winchest
trey is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 11:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 79
Default

The Winchester isn't much more than the Newcastle now.

Not sure if the motherboard I'm looking at supports 90nm or not, but I may wait another month before building, let SLI and PCI Express come out and let AGP prices come down a bit, plus I don't have all the money together... I'm looking at a few parts I'm hearing nothing but good things about, so it's worth it to wait and get everything right. Besides, only thing my laptop can't do is play games, and the form factor is rather limiting, it overheats, isn't good for a computer to be on 24/7, as I tend to run machines.
__________________

My computer:

AMD Athlon64 3200+ S939
1024MB Dual Channel DDR400 Corsair XMS with LED activity indicators
256MB GeForce 6600 PCI-E by Chaintech
Aspire X-Navigator case with 500W PSU, 6x80mm fans, 1x120mm fan
Gigabyte nForce4/PCI-E S939 mobo
80GB 7200MB 8MB WD IDE HDD
16X DVD±R Dual Layer burner
Memory card read/writer
...and a Led Zeppelin sticker!
Oceanb0rn is offline  
Old 01-16-2005, 11:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

that motherboard does support the winchester core but it need the bios version 1.3 so make sure u get that other wise ul need a newcastle chip to flash it.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.