Win2k RAM vs Paging - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2004, 12:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Win2k RAM vs Paging

posting tis on behalf of a friend
What is better / faster for games

Spec:
733mhz PIII
400mb Pc133 RAM
7200rpm HDD
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 12:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

........I dont really understand what mean by that........

:P
__________________

Chubz is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 12:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'm saying what is better use RAM or HDD paging.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 12:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Oh, I'm not even for sure what those are :P

I guess that is something else that I will have to learn
Chubz is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 06:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

RAM, or virtual RAM (on the hard drive)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 10:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Ram is faster to use, using a swap file on your hard drive is the slower of the two but you need to have at least 512MBs or more. Some programs need the swap file so turning it off would not be a good thing to do. Play around with the page file size to find the best fit for the system.

Page file is an alloted space on the hard drive where information is stored when not used by programs.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 02:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default

I dont like page file, i turn it off and it works MUCH better, but it cant load battlefield all the way, so its a toss up...
ff8squall_41 is offline  
Old 04-15-2004, 03:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

RAM.
__________________

__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.