Win2000 system file copy to new disk - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2004, 12:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 9
Default Win2000 system file copy to new disk

Hi folks - my first post..

I have a 7gb drive that I want to copy all the files
from to a new(er) 60gb drive.

I've gone into the computer management section under
control panel, and formatted the drive, etc. It's listed as
a 'dynamic' drive, and a right click doesn't show the
'mirror' option. It's greyed out.

The old 'format /s' kind of command isn't available.

How can I copy (mirror) the data from the old drive onto
the new. I really don't want to re-load all of Win2k +
my apps programs.

xcopy would copy all of the files, just not the system/boot,
etc.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Tim
__________________

tahrens is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 01:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Ghosting your drive will work. Have you ever used Symantec Ghost before?

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 09:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks Mike, I'll check them out!

Tim
tahrens is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 10:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

No problem.
The application is pretty simple to use. It will make a copy or "ghost image" of your current drive to the new one. Let us know if you need some instructions using it.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 12:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Hi Mike,

'Finally' got it done. The drive was a 'dynamic' drive, and
ghost couldn't do it. None of the options under Disk
Management in W2000 would allow me to change the
type. Used a Win98 boot disk and FDISK'ed it. Then was
able to run ghost on it. All's well. (Did have to h***le
with Adobe on the Photoshop activation thing. What a
pain!

Thanks again!

Tim
tahrens is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 02:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

No problem...I didn't realize that you listed it as a dynamic drive.
But...glad you were able to figure that part out...
whoops!

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.