win xp in partitions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2004, 12:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default win xp in partitions

My friend recently set up his win xp in partitions... so he has c d and e drives i think it was. What was the reason for doing this? Also what is the advantage of haveing more then one harddrive in your pc?
__________________

Ice9 is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 12:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

More hard drives equals more storage! Also, if you are partitioning one physical drive into other partitions than you can manage files a little easier. Also, Windows treats these as seperate drives even though they are all on 1 physical drive. So, if you had all of your system files on the c partition and maybe some music on the d partition, when you are locating some music on the d partition, the drive needle only attempts to access files from the physical area that the d partition is located on.....faster searches!
Another tip is to place the pagefile (system file that windows uses on the drive to mimic RAM) on it's own partition. So this way, the pagefile never gets fragmented and windows can access this file faster. Does this make sense?

Another common and effective reason......organization!

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 01:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mikesgroovin
More hard drives equals more storage! Also, if you are partitioning one physical drive into other partitions than you can manage files a little easier. Also, Windows treats these as seperate drives even though they are all on 1 physical drive. So, if you had all of your system files on the c partition and maybe some music on the d partition, when you are locating some music on the d partition, the drive needle only attempts to access files from the physical area that the d partition is located on.....faster searches!
Another tip is to place the pagefile (system file that windows uses on the drive to mimic RAM) on it's own partition. So this way, the pagefile never gets fragmented and windows can access this file faster. Does this make sense?

Another common and effective reason......organization!

-Mike
everyhting makes sense except Another tip is to place the pagefile (system file that windows uses on the drive to mimic RAM) on it's own partition. So this way, the pagefile never gets fragmented and windows can access this file faster.
Ice9 is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 01:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Well, think of the pagefile as if it were physical RAM.
Basically, you can add a portion of your hard drive for RAM. The system will use this portion of the hard drive as if it were RAM. The downfall is that it actually uses up a portion of the hard drive. SO, in saying that, you should place the entire pagefile on a seperate drive or partition so that the system may access it exclusively and quicker.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 01:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

whoa sorry to interupt you guys, but i've been seeing a lot of this stuff lately. Ice9 what was the point of qouting mike....i mean....who else were you talking to man?

i think qoutes are being excessivly used for no reason, plus when you qoute someone you only need to qoute a line or two not his entire message
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 03:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

LOL.....thanks man....just the laugh I needed before I went to bed. I can just picture this guy wavin' his hands in the air "Hold up, hold up!" LOL

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 03:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Without quoting me, did I answer your question?
LOL

BTW I'm not laughing at you, it's the other Mods potential expressions he had on his face....LOL

Hope you understood my post.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-26-2004, 03:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default

lol ekÆsine I guess you're right.

mike... yeah you answered my quesiton. thanks
Ice9 is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 01:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

is there really any downfall to not having a paging file? I have 1024 mb of ram and turned mine off. I havnt noticed any fallbacks...
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 03-27-2004, 07:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

how can i enable/disable my pagefile, can i also increase/decrease the size of it.

i guess the bigger the pagefile, the better my machine will perform, i have got lot of hard disk space. how mcuh should i allocate to the page file
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.