Will this work on my comp? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2004, 01:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Will this work on my comp?

Hi, I've been searching for ram on my computer to boost my gaming performance. I have a VERY slow computer.

Pentium III
550 MHz
Windows 98
128MB SD PC100 Ram

I was wondering if a PC133 works on my computer? I saw this on eBay http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...729891388&rd=1 and was wondering why it's so cheap? The cheapest one other then that I've seen range to around $100.
__________________

JeffK91 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 01:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

If you computer uses pc100, i dont think you can use pc133, only if it was the other way around
__________________

IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 01:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

I thought that you could since I've heard that from other people. I'm just trying to confirm this.
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I think it can use PC133 because my comp is older and it runs PC133. I am not sure if it runs at 133, but it says 133 in all sysinfo tools.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 02:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 303
Default

Don't buy new RAM.
Save every little penny you have.
For less than 500 dollars you can buy a PC 4x better than what you are using now.

Christmas is coming, if you get cash, save it....

or better yet, ask for it...you never know....
__________________


eipeks is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 02:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

The PC133 will slow itself down to 100 to be compatible. So yes you can use it just not at the 133 speeds.
__________________

chog is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.