Will this work? I messed up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2005, 09:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to mx416
Default Will this work? I messed up

When I was ordering my computer stuff, I ended up chainging my mobo to a different one. But what I didn't notice was the different speeds for the ram.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128286
This is DDR 400

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145439
and this is DDR 333

Will these work together? Or should I send the memory back and get some that is DDR 400?
__________________

mx416 is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Yes, it will work. But, before you open the ram, should RMA it. You'll probably pay a restocking fee, may-be not. That RAM will work though, you shouldn't see that much of a noticable difference to PC3200.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 10:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

It will work with no problems at all, but you won't be getting maximum speed out of your RAM.

If it was me, I'd just order your ddr400 right now, and then return the 333 when it arrives.
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Yep...your mobo will run the DDR 333 but, as stated above, you will be sacrificing speed. And, as said above, RMA it if the restocking fee doesn't get rediculous!!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 01:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

RMA = RETURN TO MANAFACTUER AUTHORIZATION, he would simply return it. Stop misusing the RMA word.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.