Will the Thermaltake TD-420W power supply power a 6800GT AGP?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2005, 01:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default Will the Thermaltake TD-420W power supply power a 6800GT AGP??

my friend is upgrading his gfx card to the eVGA 6800GT AGP

his PSU probably sucks, so i wanna get him a good one that doesn't cost too much

you guys think the TD-420 from thermaltake is enough to power it?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153006
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 01:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

It should be enough, but it depends on what other hardware he's got.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 02:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

nothing fancy really

Intel 2.4ghz, 768mb ram, a cd drive, dvd drive, and just one HDD
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 02:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

yea shouls be fine
joshd is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 02:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Seems like the non-PFC version. Not too efficient..
Chankama is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 08:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

i might get him the 480 watt just to play it safe
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 09:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

420W will probabbly be enough, but only just.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153007
this is the 480W one
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 09:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

That 420 watt thermaltake powers my 6600GT, which are just as power hungry as a 6800GT

And that's an Active PFC PSU
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.