Will this PSU work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2005, 10:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default Will this PSU work?

OK i have a semi-crappy PSU that came with my case and is 400w with 18 Amps on the 12V rail. I was wondering if it would work with my set-up FOR TWO WEEKS OR LESS. I think it will work but the only ploblem is that it is 20 pin and my mobo is 24 pin but i heard 20 pin will still work just without sound or something. I know i will need to get another one soon but i just wanted to boot everything up and see how it all works and maybe play newly bought HL2. Thanks for the help.
__________________

__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 10:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

why the hell are you still risking it?

yes, it will work, but it's bad for your system
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 10:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

i'm risking it because im an impatient whore! I dont want to wait 2 weeks for my other PSU to come in when the whole rig is already built for the most part. I want to set up the BIOS, install windows, etc..
__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 10:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

i set up my bios, ran windows, and played a ittle farcry with a 20pin PSU

if you're gonna run your comp on a 20pin psu for two weeks, it's ok, but you're still gonna need that 24pin psu
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 10:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

Yeah i just bought this one which i'm pretty confident about but I literally JUST ordered it so it wont be a week until i get it. I think i'm still gonna try booting BIOS and windows and stuff sometime this week though. Probably wont be able to play HL@ until that PSU comes in just because i'm busy this week with prom.
__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 11:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

the 20pin psu i used was also 18A@12V

in fact the rosewill will work perfectly fine, but if i were you i wouldn't risk it

also, 430W is pretty low, should went for 500jus in case, but anywho, 430 will work fine
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 11:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You should be fine with a 20 pin PSU for a while, but it is a good idea to replace the PSU as soon as you can. The extra four pins serve as a ground for the 3.3v, 5v, and 12v rail so to speak, specifically because exisiting 20 pin connections only have one 12v connector, and the added strain on that rail from PCI-E cards results in that pin burning.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.