Will my PSU work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2005, 12:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 22
Default Will my PSU work?

I have a 20-pin ATX 480W power supply. I'm wondering if it is safe to use it with my ECS 915P-A motherboard that has a 24-pin ATX power supply connector. The motherboard manual says that it could "cause the system to become unbootable or unstable because of insufficient electricity". Is this something I should worry about? Do I need to get a different power supply?
__________________

Freeman420 is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 12:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

not sure ive read some reviwes on new egg about ppl using a 20 pin coenctor on a 24 pin mobo they said it worked fine
__________________

bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 01:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

definately u have to get a 24-pin PSU, as these 2-pins were made specificallt for the PCI-E mobos
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 01:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

ive hear about posts where 20 pin can work with 24 pin so ur kind of wrong
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 01:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

may be I am, but its better to use a 24-pin with 24-pin. have u inserted your PCI card into AGP?
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 04:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, on the Lake. Its my backyard :)
Posts: 296
Default

Yes you can use a 20 pin PSU in a 24 pin Mobo, I did it with my DFI lanparty Ultra D for a couple weeks, and it ran stable as can be. BUT you should Definalty try and get a 24 pin PSU, the Fortron Blue is an excellent choice (have one now )
__________________
AMD X2 555 unlocked to X4 B55 @3.5 | 8GB GSkill Sniper series | Asus M4A89GTD Pro/Usb3 | 2x XFX HD6850 | 600W OCZ ModXStream | Thermaltake V9 Black edition | Corsair H50 | 2x 1TB Samsung HD's
Heatware
TipsySmile is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 05:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Im sure its possible to get an adaptor but i recomend you get a 24 pin psu.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 06:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

yeah you can get an adapter, I can sell you one for 40 dollors.... or you can just buy one here
for 5 bucks. Plenty of people run without a 24 pin psu, but you should probably put it on the future upgrade list.
Sui is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 11:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Fortron Blue is a wisely priced and par excellant PSU's, I use Fortron FSP-350W, and runs stable. quiet and powerful.

but I am thinking of Fortron BLue as well, its just BLUE color that is stopping me, (are there any lights inside?) cause I hate them.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 06:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Will using my 20-pin do any damage to my mobo or am I safe?
__________________

Freeman420 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.