Will my processor be compatible with a new graphics card?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ravenhart

Solid State Member
My system specs are in my sig. My computer won't run Battlefeild 2, so i figure it's time for an upgrade. Strangely, it runs HL2 on most high settings, but whatever.

Can i get a new 256 mb graphics card that will be compatible with my current processor? Or will I have to get a new processor and a new graphics card? Furthermore, will i need to get a new motherboard to support all the new crap?

I'm trying to decide wether or not to upgrade, or to wait a while and simply buy a new computer. I really don't think getting a new one is neccecary, but if i have to get a new motherboard, processor, and graphics card, the cost/benefit ratio may or may not make sense.

Obviously, i'm new to the whole upgrading concept; thus far, all i've ever done is bought a new computer, though i understand some of the simplest basics. Please, give me reccomendations whatever the case.

Let me explain this.

Processor and GPU are in no relation whatsoever. The only deciding factor when you choose a video card is what slot type it uses: AGP, or PCI-E. Your board uses AGP 4x, which is the 2nd oldest slot type, next to PCI.

I recommend you get a whole new computer. If you want a reliable build, search TF. Because by the time you get a new Intel mobo, processor, and video card, you might as well get a whole new computer.

Re:

Hello,

There shouldn't be any concern finding a graphics card which will be compatible with your CPU. The real concern would be your motherboard.

So long as you have an AGP on your motherboard, then your good to go. Some motherboards can be fussy, allowing only certain graphics cards with a specific AGP specification, with specific voltages- but most modern motherboards can take virtually any graphics card without any problems. The motherboard you currently have should have no problems whatsoever.