will a magnet screwdriver mess anything up? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2004, 07:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

It could ruin your drives, especially your hard drives, if put too close to it. But then again, it would probably have to be in contact with the drive in order for it to cause disk or data damage.

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 07:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

would have to be close to the platters, yeah. but the casing is enough to really protect it from a weak magnetic field generated by the screw driver. However, I still wouldn't suggest it. This is just according to specs on most modern HDD, and I dont know how many times where manufacturer promises were pretty much a turd in the dark.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 10:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default

what if i put the tip to the motherboard then hit the back of it with a hammer?
__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 02:09 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
what if i put the tip to the motherboard then hit the back of it with a hammer?
I heard it boosts your CPU speed to 5GHz without any problems
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 04:30 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default

I did it, and i used a 5 pound sledge hammer, boosted it up to 6.87 Ghz and added 4 GB of Ram, i suggest everyone do the same
__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 08:55 AM   #16 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Nothing ever happend to my HD's using magnetic screwdrivers.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 05:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

yeah, the casing shields it somewhat. dont what a large magnet near there, like a powered magnet and what not.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 06:35 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cloud
I did it, and i used a 5 pound sledge hammer, boosted it up to 6.87 Ghz and added 4 GB of Ram, i suggest everyone do the same
Whats happening to my computer???!!! It wont even start up!!!
Tuxthepenguin is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 07:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default

You probably didnt wear an anti-static wrist band, this is a key factor, you generate a lot of electricity while swinging the hammer.
__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 12-03-2004, 09:10 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 35
Default

ah yes, i forgot to discharge the static electricity from the head beforehand... now i cant sue you for damages
__________________

Tuxthepenguin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.