will this hurt the computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2007, 10:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default will this hurt the computer?

I work on computers and its winter right now. i take them home sometimes or my parents bring some of there co workers computers home for me to work on. Any way my dad allways tells me to wait for the computer to get to room temperature. Do i have to?

The Brand of computers I see the most are DELLS. And there not pretty. Dust on the front and all over the back and don't mention about the inside. My 3 computers are dust free. Dells just aren't that good. Dust stops the airflow so its not that great so parts can overheat and slow down your computer as well.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Umm i dont think it would hurt them if you work on them right when you get them.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

yeah but it was out in the cold in my dads car for 2 days and its cold. do i have to wait for it to warm up?
Norcent is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 11:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Norcent
yeah but it was out in the cold in my dads car for 2 days and its cold. do i have to wait for it to warm up?
I would. Though I'm not sure.

The only reason I say so is because I usually leave my breadboard for my circuits class in my car (in the winter, sometimes), and sometimes when I hook up the oscilloscope to the board, to see capacitor charge/discharge, I don't get what Im always looking for. After a few min, then I do.
M4A1 is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 11:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Truthfully, i have no idea whether it would hurt it or not. I assume it would work like a battery. Gets cold, if cold enough it won't provide power, so you have to wait until it gets warm enough to provide power. I'd let it get to room temperature. Shouldn't take more than an hour or two, i'm assuming.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

thank you guys.
Norcent is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Not a problem.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 203
Default

dust accumulates because of what you have in the room of the computer. My computer have a ridiculous amount of dust so i clean them out every few months, but the reason i have alot of dust is becuase i have a carpet and a wool blanket, making it a very dusty area.
__________________
Computer noob in training.
savagenator is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 01:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default

Ok... that isn't the issue though
M4A1 is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 06:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

I have my computers in my basement and my dad has 3 dells down with my computers. The dells are very dusty where mine are nice and clean. I have to clean the dells at least once a month or once every other month. My computers i havn't had to clean out yet and i had 2 of them for about 1 year.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.