Will it be good enough for gaming? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2005, 03:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to panish
Default Will it be good enough for gaming?

my current system is
AMD Athlon XP 2600 (256kb cache) on MSI K87V
crappy geforce fx 5700
768MB DDR
200gb Maxtor HD
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit

What I'm wondering is, if i get a chaintech Geforce 6600GTLink will my current setup of processer and memory be enough to play games like HL2 and Doom3 almost maxed out?
or will i need a processer upgrade, and how important is your CPU/Memory/Mobo ifyou have a really nice graphics card for gaming?

thank you
jeremy
__________________

panish is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 03:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Well I can play HL2 and CS:Source pertty well on my 2.6 P4 and ATI 9600.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 03:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 119
Default

the video card is a great, but i'd suggest getting a better motherboard, preferably one with a better socket. if u wanna upgrade teh proc, heres some linx

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...C-pr1c3grabb3r
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...e=pricegrabber

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...e=pricegrabber
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...C-pr1c3grabb3r
__________________
AMD 64 3400+ s939 / ASUS A8V Deluxe (K8T800Pro) / Kingston Dual Channel DDR 400 (2 x 256) Corsair Value DDR 400 (2 x 512) / ATI Radeaon 9600XT / Seagate 120 GB/
deadweight is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 03:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

If you were to run Doom 3 with one 6600gt, you'd get less than 18 fps, according to this:

http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...charts-06.html
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The 6600GT is doing 42 FPS with high quality 1024 x 768 with no AA or AINSF


Yeah, when you bump up the AA and AINSF, you kill the card. I think you were also looking at the normal 6660.

Also, why the picture of hyndaui ram as your sig?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 04:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Also, why the picture of hyndaui ram as your sig?
I just took a pic of the RAM that I just took out of my comp to replace. Then I thought it would be rather clever to put my screen name in place of the brand name. I see you don't share my same thoughts on it being clever.

Anyways, panish, the 6600gt is a really good budget card (from what I hear and read), and although it wont run Doom 3 at its fullest settings at a good framerate, I doubt you'd be disappointed if you bought it.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 06:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

the 6600gt will play all games just fine. the 6800gt is for the people that must have 60+ fps in every game at super high resolutions
__________________

jnev_89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.