Wierd video card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2005, 07:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default Wierd video card

I was on zipzoomfly, and i found this 2000 dollar video card, made by a company unknown to me, what the hell is it, is it any good, whats its purpose, video editing?
here it it..http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=324704
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 07:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

i remember seeing that on newegg a few months ago but i have no clue what it is (obviously a video card but...)
__________________

SteveGTA is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 07:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

probably just for video editing
__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 08:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

video editing????????????Ya right, you do realize most video editing apps save for a couple use very little graphics power at all, most of them use sheer CPU power, which makes sense, a video is nothing more than a stack of images multiplexed with sound.HDTV video resolution for NTSC is 1440x1080 or less, and its not even mainstream yet, DVD's are 720x480 in NTSC, not much need for GPU power there.

That card supports resolutions up to like 3800x2400, its for doing 3D models and hires graphics design, raytracing, and other super fine graphics work.You'll find equipment like that in places where engineers design parts for cars,planes,buildings, and machines in 3D using CAD.Might find a few like that in a handful of companies that make 3D models for games on occasion, but not at that resolution.A few operations that do virtual reality type work probably use them on occasion to make models.
horndude is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 08:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Horndude got it right, it's for heavy heavy 3D rendering applications such as autocad where you need to crunch a lot of numbers. These particular cards are built for reliability and precision, since they have to render a lot of crap done to the bone you want as little error as possible, and these card ensures that rendering errors or miscalculations are kept minimal.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 08:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Default

3dlabs is a branch of Creative.

www.3dlabs.com
www.creative.com
Brently is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 08:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
and these card ensures that rendering errors or miscalculations are kept minimal.
So are you saying that typical off-the-shelf video cards make errors during calculations?

One would hope that they are precise if they are not overclocked and running under normal operating conditions... But I haven't seen any benchmarks to say either way... People are only concerned about FPS these days.. As they should. lol
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 08:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 38
Default

If they don't have errors they would probably take a long time to render.
Brently is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 08:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

No, what he's saying is in apps like CAD, which are often written using OpenGL, that a card like that sticks very very close to the absolute standards for giving the best and most accurate rendering quality possible, its emphasis isnt speed like a gaming card.Gaming cards trade speed for rendering quality, there's a fair amount of error involved in rendering frames in games, especially with all the manipulation going on with shading and whatnot.Ya I guess you could call it errors, but in reality, with any digital image its nothing more than a representation, so sometimes the image quality has to be sacrficed for speed.

With a card like this you can zoom in and work with incredibly fine details and lines at super high resolution that a gaming card wont even touch, and often the drivers for gaming cards really arent setup for that kind of work either.
horndude is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 08:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

wonder how htat thing would preform with games? ...
it's dual core with a 3rd processing chip that does something different and 640mb memory. Must... SLI....
__________________

GageMW is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.