Wierd Computer Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2004, 05:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to btsunami
Exclamation Wierd Computer Problem

Ok first ill show system specs

AMD Athlong xp 2700+ w/ a volvano 7 Heatsink and Fan
2 Maxtor HD's 40 and 20 gigs (7200 RPM)
Hercules Fortissimo III 7.1 sound card
Asus CD R/RW 52x32x52
Hiatachi DVD 16x
ATI Radeon 9800 XT 256

Old ram == PC 2100 Housebrand (256x2)
New ram == Kingston HyperX PC3200 184 Pin (512x2)

Ok the problem as you might guess is the new RAM. I installed it this morning and tried to boot up. Instead of booting up all the lights on my fans started flickering and the fan speeds seemed considerably slower. I started to smell something not write (probably burning) so I immidiatley switched the computer off. I put the old ram back in and booted up. No smells and everything boots ok untill it trys to load windows. It goes to a black screen and just sits there and does nothing. I called Kingston today and they said to check for burn marks on the RAM and DIMM slots. Im pretty sure there arnt any. I dont know what to do and any comments would be helpful. Thanks

btsunami is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 08:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421

I think you just ****ed up your whole system. (Short circuit?)

If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 08:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 251

It's fried man... no way around it. unscrew mobo and look hard for burns.
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
Forchunet is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 08:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
uzi9mm's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553

If my memory modules burnt up in my computer I would pray to god that my Radeon 9800XT wasnt destroyed I would "evacuate" all other components!!!!!! Ok you put the old ram back in and still didnt work? I think you destroyed the Ram slots, you would have to send the mobo back to the manufacturer for a professional repair. But it could be worse you could of fuc&ed up your CPU, the North/South bridge controllers, and any thing hooked up to the PCI/AGP slots. The hard drives and CDRom drives should be all right. I would have a system evaluation done and they can test all of the slots and cpu for you for like $30. They will tell you what busted and you have to decide whether to junk the board or repair it.
INTEL i7 930
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 08:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 180

get kingston to pay for it if you did every thing right and get a dam good pc
threaten to go to the media ect
psydesign is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.