Wierd computer happenings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2005, 10:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default Wierd computer happenings

Ok, I just bought a 16x dual layer dvdrw drive and ever since I installed it (2 days ago) my computer will only work when it is horizontal (on its side). If it is vertical, it does not function. If i move it from horizontal to vertical while it is on, I can hear something (presumably the hard drive) sound like it is shutting off and when it returns to a horizontal position I can hear it come back. Do you know what is wrong/what I should do?
__________________

INGSOC is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 10:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Odd. Keep it horizontal
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Yeah, that is what I am doing now, but it takes up too much space horizontal. I really need a way to fix this problem. Anyone have any ideas.

Thanks in advance.
INGSOC is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 12:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

i don't know, one of my friends has sort of the same problem. his computer will turn on ONLY when its on its side. it started this when he got a mobo, CPU, and RAM change. BTW, he has: MSI K8T neo2-FSR, Athlon 64 2800+ (S754), and 512MB PC-3200 DDR.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 12:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Faulty wiring or connections maybe?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 04:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 180
Default

yeah there is a problem with the wires or connections
psydesign is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 05:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Try unplugging everything and plugging it back in. It sounds like a loose connection.

Or it could be one of those security tilt switch things on the motherboard.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 05:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Take out everything from your case. Clean it out of dust. Shake your psu and make sure there is no loose objects in there (if there is, open up your psu and take it out), put the psu, mobo and everything back in and try it. I had a computer that wouldnt turn on (no picture) so i re-seated everything and it works fine.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 05:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

Yeah, check all the connections but also look out for short circuiting.
__________________

__________________
jono199 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.