wierd *** problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2004, 02:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default wierd *** problem

ok i have the most bizzare problem i have ever seen... so i was installing a new hard drive on my aunts computer and instead of pressing the power button to shut it off i accidentally pressed the reset button... and wuts happened since then is really really wierd ... since i pressed the button the monitor and keyboard and mouse have refused to work.. the moniter led dispays an orange led as if it was not recieving a signal or something and the three keyboard lights go on when the computer starts but it loses all fuction after that point and well i havent had windows installed so i havent had time to check the mouse.. but ya i tried taking everything off the mother board and reconnecting it then i tried unplugging the reset button from the panel on the motherboard but still no luck.. can anyone help me figure out wut this problem may be
__________________

__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 02:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
so i was installing a new hard drive on my aunts computer and instead of pressing the power button to shut it off i accidentally pressed the reset button
im confused... did u press the reset button b4 installing the HD? during installation of the HD? or after the HD was already installed?
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 02:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

perhaps i shudve been more clearer... i hooked up the hd inside the bay then pressed reset for god knows what reason =\ and i ended up in my cuttend position
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 03:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

i redid everything took apart everything on the mother board then hooked it up again and i cant get to the bios seeing as the monitor continues to display a blank screen and an orange led like its not getting a proper signal =\
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 03:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

ehm.. tell me you're using a ps2 connection for the keyboard? if you're using a usb connection maybe the bios got corrupt and you'll have to reset the options in it, to enable usb in posting. With that orange led that sounds like a wireless connection.
Demalii is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 03:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
i hooked up the hd inside the bay then pressed reset for god knows what reason
if im the only one still confused about ur situation, then smack me, but im still not clear.

was the computer on while u were installing the HD? or was it off wen u pressed the reset button? if it was off, the reset button wouldnt have done anything.. if it was on while u were installing it, i dont know wat kinda problems that may cause or maynot cause, but if it was on durring installation id say thats most likely the cause of the issue.
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 03:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

okok hers wut happened i had the computer off hooked up the sata hard drive but then turned it on and had trouble installing windows onto the drive when i realized i needed to use not just the sillicon 3112 drivers but the via drivers (as this particular computer has a via chipset) so i reset the computer to restart the installation and from that point on it went breserk on me.. and yes its a ps2 connection for both keyboard and mouse
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 07-30-2004, 04:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

ok, from ur first post i thought u were just installing a second IDE HD into her comp. all clear now. thx

you should prolly post the PC specs like micro suggested, especially witch Mother bourd is in it.

did u try resetting the cmos? was her old HD also SATA?
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 07:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

ok nvm i figured out the problem... its my aunts computer and she had a cheap *** ices motherboard on there.. and she didnt have proper cooling either so it just overrheated and burned out... got a new gigabyte motherboard and some better cooling soo she wont have the same problem again ^_^
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 08:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129
Default

Ices? Don't you mean Asus?
__________________

-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.