Why would you need 2x6800GT??? do they run "dual channel" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 05:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default Why would you need 2x6800GT??? do they run "dual channel"

Hey, probably a n00b question but why do some people get 2x6800GT's or whatever. Could you get them to cooaperate like "Dual channe" ram does???
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

PCI-E, using two vid cards is way better than just one. Instead of one card handling the whole monitor, you have 2: 1 for the top half and 1 for the bottom half.
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

they run in what's called SLI or Scalable Link Interface
basically, they are both rendering one screen at the same time, giving better performance
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

it's called SLI. You need a SLI board to do that crap. Has a little bridge that connects both cards. IMO it's a waste of money
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

nice, that kicks butt man... .wow
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it's very expensive. like Nubius said, for most people it is a waste of money
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 138
Default

But in a few years...

they'll be very useful :P
z3phyr04 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

the mobo is expensive??
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 138
Default

The deluxe ASUS SLI mobo im getting in my new one is about £95 - im gonna stick an extra identical 6800GT sometime after i get it
z3phyr04 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

I'm sick of reading "IMO" someone please tell me what this means, it annoying me
__________________

ApM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.