Why wont windows xp let me reformat?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2005, 06:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 99
Default Why wont windows xp let me reformat??

I am trying to clean up a very nasty mess on my wife's moms pc. It heavily used on the internet buy 4people. I have just decided to reformat and reinstall windows. But when I try to do this it tells me I cant do this. Is there another way to get around this?? What is the easiest way to reformat?

Thanks,
Dave
__________________

Dav536 is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Hi

Are you booting the with the winXp disk in and.Or you puting the disk in from within windows.You might have better luck booting off of the disk.If you are and still have no luck you gan get ahold of a windows 98 boot disk.boot off of it and chouse withoyt cdrom support. then at the A: Prompt type format C: or whatever the drive letter is.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 08:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 99
Default

Ok well I have been messing around with it and got to the point when I can reformat the drive, but then tells me that there is not enough space to run. So I checked out task mgr and there is 36 programs running and more than half I cant shut down, and the CPU usage is at 98-100%. Anyone have any ideas on how to get past this??

Thanks,
Dave
Dav536 is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 08:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Hey

It sounds like your doing this from within windows.That is your problem.You need to put the windows XP cd in the Drive and restart the computer and boot off of the cd rom.Then run the setup from there .It sonds like you have to much garbage on the computer to do it from within windows.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 09:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 99
Default

Nice to see a fellow Vancouverian on the boards.

THanks,
Dave
Dav536 is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 09:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

sPlAtOiD speaks of the truth. You will never be able to format the drive inside of Windows since it contains the active partition. As mentioned boot up from the XP CD and go that route. The instructions are pretty basic, but if you need some guidence I always reccomend this tutorial since it provides graphics in case there is a question at some point during the install.

This is a link curtousy of the fine people at www.bootdisk.com

http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase...p_sg_clean.asp
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 09:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Hey Dav536 where you live.Im in Hazel Dell
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 09:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

yeah
__________________

bobafett573 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.