Why wide screen? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2007, 03:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Why wide screen?

Hello,

Are you using DVI-D or VGA (aka 15-pin D-Sub)?

Ensure that you've installed the driver for your monitor, which is available to download here:

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/download/supportDown.do?group=&type=&subtype=&model_nm=941B W&language=&dType=D&mType=DR&vType=L

(Note, this is not a driver for your graphics card / onboard graphics. This monitor driver is provided on a CD which comes with the Samsung display, however the driver on the CD may not be the latest).

Afterward, check to see if you can set your resolution to 1440 x 900.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 04:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default Re: Why wide screen?

your new wide screen monitor probably has a resolution that is 16:9, or something similar. If you try to use an aspect ratio that does not match that of your monitor, things will not look correctly.

For example, if you have a picture that you took with your digital camera that is in a 4:3 aspect ratio, and your monitor does not nativley support a 4:3 aspect ratio, but you have your resolution set to somthing that is a 4:3 ratio (1024x768), the ratio of the image and desktop resolution match, so the image will fill the non 4:3 screen and be distorted because of it.

LCDs always look best at the native resolution, so make sure that you have the latest drivers for both your video card, and your monitor installed, and make sure that your video card can support that high of a resolution (older integrated cards cannot support resoltions like 1440x900)

Once your resolution is correct, videos and other things that are in 4:3 ratio, when fullscreened, should have black borders on the sides, and should not fill the screen.
__________________

Biggie578 is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 02:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Why wide screen?

I have the same issue on my 20" at work. My stupid intel integrated video doesnt support 1680x1050(native) resolution, so i have it set at 1600x1200 which is about as close as i can get it. There is still a bit of stretching but i prefer a little stretching to have the extra screen space. My 20" at home which has an actual video card displaying to it is set at 1680x1050 and its night and day difference from having a crappy 4x3 monitor. I dont understand why in this day and age, anything comes in 4x3 anymore.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 02:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Why wide screen?

pictures shouldn't look stretched, heres what a picture i took on my phone looks like on my Samsung wide screen monitor:

Nick is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 03:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Why wide screen?

wow that picture looks gd for a phone i gt a cybershot 3.2mp? how many mp is urs?
jay_bo is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 03:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Why wide screen?

1.3
Nick is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 03:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Why wide screen?

oryt thats gd quality that i did have a motorola v3x but cant get it unlocked and i dont wanna pay for it lol its only a stupid code lol
jay_bo is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 03:56 PM   #18 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Why wide screen?

i have the V3i, it locks up a lot but i like it
Nick is offline  
Old 07-30-2007, 04:03 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Why wide screen?

i ment get it unblocked to o2sorry
__________________

jay_bo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strange black screen problem flashychap Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 05-27-2007 05:59 PM
Fix for black screen in Nintendo Wii virtual console games Osiris Nintendo 0 05-24-2007 08:13 AM
Black Startup Screen in XP doodah12 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-22-2007 03:38 PM
mini camcorder screen problem (urgent help) -RockMan- Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-24-2007 03:50 PM
Screen stays black.... Cajete Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2007 08:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.