Why wide screen? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2007, 09:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 283
Default Why wide screen?

We recently got a wide screen monitor. Because it is wider than it is tall, desktops and pictures are distorted.

My wife says that's the way it's supposed to be. I don't see the sense in it. So what is the purpose of having a screen much wider than it is high?
__________________

darsunt is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 09:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Why wide screen?

How is the pictures distorted? Did you set the resolution correctly? Pictures? Wider screens are for gaming and entertainment.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: Why wide screen?

The proportion is off. The faces are wider (fatter) then they are supposed to be. Everything is wider in proportion to the height than they were in the original picture. Which one would expect if you place a fairly square picture and stretch it over a long rectangle.

Those video games, do they adapt to the wide screen and keep the figures proportional?

It looks terrible to me. But wife insists that distortion is correct and the only problem is the correct resolution. I don't see the sense in it, but there are lots of wide screens out there so there must be a reason.
darsunt is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 11:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Why wide screen?

Take pictures? Did you change the resolution setting to the monitor's native resolution?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 12:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 152
Default Re: Why wide screen?

certain ws monitors should be set to a certain resolution for example when i bought my lg ws i had the same problem as u everything was pixelated and fat untill i changed to the correct resolution of 1440x900

wat is the model and make of ur monitor ??
__________________
AMD ATHLON 64X2 5200+ DUAL CORE
ASUS M2N-E-SLI
256 DDR3 INNO3D 8600GT
2x1GB PQY DDR2 800MHZ
250GB SEAGATE IDE
320GB WESTERN DIGITAL SATAII
19" LG L194WT WS
ANTEC 900 CASE

AMD ATHLON 64X2 4600+ DUAL CORE
GB GA M555-SLI-S4
256 DDR2 ASUS 7600GT
2X 1GB DDR2 667MHZ
400GB SEAGATE SATAII
GENERIC CASE
joey1 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 01:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: Why wide screen?

Perhaps wife was correct....?

Its a Samsung 941 BW 19 inch ws. I looked at the specs in newegg and it says recommended resolution is 1440 X 900 just like yours.

Opening properties for desktop, and then settings, there's a sliding control under 'screen resolution', but the setting go 1400 X 1050, ect. We can't make them 1440 X 900. Is the fix on the CD that comes with the monitor?
darsunt is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 01:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Why wide screen?

What video card does the computer have?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 11:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Why wide screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
What video card does the computer have?
Perhaps your video card is holding you back. Or download the latest drivers and software for your particular card.

It's funny that he mentiones that images are distorted and don't look right. You'd be surprise how many people buy these widescreen monitors or tv's and think it's absolutely normal for the images to be 'distorted'.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 12:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Why wide screen?

don't stretch your background image. that is why it looks retarded.
mgcook is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 03:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Why wide screen?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
don't stretch your background image. that is why it looks retarded.
lol, I just chop mine, photoshop or paint, or if I run dual, then i use tile and make an image that will stretch acrost both, and that also lets me have a diff image on each monitor.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
strange black screen problem flashychap Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 05-27-2007 05:59 PM
Fix for black screen in Nintendo Wii virtual console games Osiris Nintendo 0 05-24-2007 08:13 AM
Black Startup Screen in XP doodah12 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-22-2007 03:38 PM
mini camcorder screen problem (urgent help) -RockMan- Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-24-2007 03:50 PM
Screen stays black.... Cajete Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2007 08:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.