Why RAM? Why Not Hard drive? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2005, 04:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 175
Default

RAM is electrical, HDDs are mechanical.
__________________

FrontSide is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 04:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

HDD's are electrical as well.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 04:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Well the mechanism in the hard drive means that it takes much longer to access data than with RAM. With the hard drive it is measured in milliseconds, while RAM is much much much faster than that. With a hard drive the read/write head has to be physically moved to where the data is before it can be read, with RAM it is almost instantly available at request.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 05:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 175
Default

m3trj is right.

HDDs are measured in milliseconds while RAM is measured is nanoseconds.
FrontSide is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 05:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
wut? 0.9GIG per second is 900MB/sec.
Sounds like a pretty damn fast HD to me!
Forgot a decimal place :/
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 05:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yeah, your CPU can communicate with your memory a hell of a lot faster than any hard drive. The same goes with cache, I don't even want to guess how quickly a processor can process data from the cache...
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 05:28 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 175
Default

Negative.
FrontSide is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 05:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Forgot a decimal place :/
90MB/s is still extremely fast.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 06:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
A+ Certification by Mike Meyers. Read it, then come back to TF
I'll take a look at that.
Wouldn't another reason that the RAM is faster than an HD be that the RAM is located closer to all the other stuff like the CPU, Vid card, etc.?
Regulus is offline  
Old 03-07-2005, 06:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

At how fast the electrons are flowing I highly doubt a few physical inches is going to make much speed difference.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.