Why is my CPU slower? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2008, 12:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 139
Default Why is my CPU slower?

Hey guys

My friend and I have roughly the same computers hardware wise. Difference is that mine runs an Allendale processor,
E4500 2.2Ghz, 2MB L2 Cache, 800Mhz fsb.

And her's is a Conroe processor,
E6400 2.13Ghz, 2MB L2 Cache, 1066Mhz fsb.

I've overclocked my E4500 from 2.2 to 2.4GHz but mine is still slower than her's for some reason. I compressed the same video with WinRar on both our computers and mine took 60 sec but her's only took 40 sec.

I want to understand why my 2.4Ghz is slower than her 2.13Ghz. what's the difference between a Conroe and an Allendale bcuz they're both Core 2 Duo CPUs with 2MB of shared cache. I looked everywhere and the E6400 is more expensive than the E4500. plus it makes sense the E6000 series would be better than the E4000 series but how different are their architectures?
__________________

heffer is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 12:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Why is my CPU slower?

She has bigger FSB. Do you have the same ram?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 12:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 139
Default Re: Why is my CPU slower?

so FSB matters a lot then. Both our computers have 2GB DDR2 667mhz ram.
heffer is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 12:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Why is my CPU slower?

How many process are running on each computer?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 12:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 139
Default Re: Why is my CPU slower?

A lot of processes were going on at the time (i'm looking in the Task Manager). But always 99 of the cpu usage was for WinRar.
heffer is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 04:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Why is my CPU slower?

E4500 should perform as good as E6400

Don't forget that performance depends on software and Hardware. Maybe she have a faster hard drive, or maybe she have less process running on the task manager or maybe she have newer version of winrar......etc

So, the best way to compare your CPU with her is to use them on the same computer. So, you would have the same hardware and software.
maroon1 is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 04:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Why is my CPU slower?

Quote:
Originally Posted by heffer View Post
I've overclocked my E4500 from 2.2 to 2.4GHz but mine is still slower than her's for some reason. I compressed the same video with WinRar on both our computers and mine took 60 sec but her's only took 40 sec.
So, her ship is 50% faster in those applications ?! Thats impossible !

I'm pretty sure that there is something wrong. Just remove your E4500 from your computer and try it on her computer.
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is a 1:1 overclock? aetherh4cker Overclocking and Modding 22 01-17-2008 04:02 PM
Cpu And Ram questions(and Advise for new my comp) DragenFear System Upgrades 20 01-06-2008 07:19 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.