Why does my PC keep loosing power and shutting down - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2005, 03:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default Why does my PC keep loosing power and shutting down

My PC Recently just statred losing power semi randomly and sutting down instantaniously now windows is logging off or any of that just straight to black a nice pop of the speakers and all pc activity stops. It usually refuses to boot back up for a period of time somethimes 4 minutes sometimes two hours. It will try and get to some random point and then just power down again. It seems to loose power mostly though not exclusivly when I have some heafty processes going on rather than when windows is the only thing running. I am running windows xp pro and recently reformated my hardrive and reinstalled windows but the problem persists. Is this my power source or somthing else suggested solutions please
__________________

donkylegs is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

What kind of power supply do you have?
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 03:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Do you know what your temperatures are? As you just described what happens when your pc gets too hot. The automatic shut down is why it turns off, and it goes into thermal hybernation for a while until it cools.

You will have to get a better heatsink or better case cooling or better still both.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 03:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Possibilities:

1. Overheating.
2. Faulty PSU.

Those are trademark signs of a PC with a bad PSU, an overheating problem, or a combination of the two. Check it out, report back.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 03:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 135
Default

now that would suck, overheating due to psu supplying too much voltage to teh processor... OH NOEZ! lmao
Panther5060 is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 04:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Sounds like overheating to me, since, it won't power up again for sometime.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 07:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default

everything was good with the computer for about a year and a half before this started happening so Im guesing something has stopped working or isnt working as well as it once did. Im likely gonna come across as retarded here but how can I check my tempetures and psu. I know more about this stuff than most folks and have done quite a bit of work on the inards af a few pc's b4 though not this one, but this is something I have not had to deal with b4.
donkylegs is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 02:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Well, most new MB's will have Temperature monitoring... should be in your bios somewhere.

There are also programs you can download that monitor what your bios is reading so that you can see this while working in your OS.

My favorite is:
http://www.lavalys.com/products.php?lang=en
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 02:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

I believe that's called overheating I've had same problems, except mine was/were for longer periods of time.
SkyHi is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 02:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

It probably is heat, but it could also be a faulty PSU. if u open up your case and look at your power supply, could you take a picture of the sticker that should be on it? If u can, please post it on the board. Or at least tell us the make, and the capacity. There are alot of crap PSUs flaoting around out there. Also, what are ur system specs?
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.