Why does my computer randomly keep reseting? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2006, 07:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Default Why does my computer randomly keep reseting?

My computer keeps randomly resteting, what do you reckon it could be? CPU over heating's the only thing i can think it would be
__________________

__________________
Anyone in the uk wanna give me a job...Please
IanP is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

basicly its a driver or hardware issue , ill know more after ill analyze the recent logs get into c:\windows\minidump rar/zip all files and upload to http://www.upload2.net provide the link and ill get it checked and let you know , windows keep bsod logs in that folder and by default windows is set to restart on a bsod so..

your processor runs at stock speed or you overclocked it?
you added/upgraded any hardware recently?
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 10:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

to prevent the system from automatically restarting...

go to start -> settings -> control panel -> system
or my computer -> view system information.

click the advanced tab
click startup and recovery settings

uncheck "automatically restart"
heres a pic to show you...

talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 11:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 211
Default

see when i press f8 i have a option that says "use last known good configuration" i think its for drivers and my computer is still working fine. I had the same problem, 5 seconds after it boot into windows and windows explorer was still loading my computer would restardm, i think the longest i went without it restarting was like 15 seconds(i think that might be cuase it froze up for a few seconds). If you have that option when you press f8 well have fun use it .
Keadonen is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 04:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Default

DMP

There are my files, thanks for all the help by the way.
__________________
Anyone in the uk wanna give me a job...Please
IanP is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 02:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

it was caused by ALCXWDM.SYS (audio driver) get the latest or try an older version if you alredy got the latest , you welcome
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 05:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Default

lol, downloaded the drivers a day a ago, formated my computer and couldnt be botherd to look for the cd so downloaded them of the website.

What did you use to read the files and what were you looking for?
Seems a good function, wouldnt mind learning some information.
__________________

__________________
Anyone in the uk wanna give me a job...Please
IanP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.