Why disabling CPU Level 2 Cache is a fix? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2005, 09:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default Why disabling CPU Level 2 Cache is a fix?


XP wont start when CPU Level 2 cache is enabled in BIOS.

I recently upgraded to XP from 98se.
When xp is first installed everything seems to be working fine. Then next time i turned on the computer i started getting blue screen of deaths at seemingly random times while i was using my computer.
Then it got worse and i would get a BSOD just as xp starts.

The blue screen of death said

"The problem seems to be caused by following file ntfs.sys"

Been at this problem for three days now, search the net its seems as though its related to some driver not being compatible but i am not sure. I installed asus pc probe and it says my power fan and chassis fan are below threshold. I don't know what this means, could it be a power issue that my processor can't handle using level 2 cache?

Ive done memtest and it didn't find errors.

Since i disabled cpu level 2 cache everything works, but its annoying because i am losing some performance. Anyone know Why disabling CPU Level 2 Cache is a fix?

motherboard: asus a7v333
512mb ram
amd xp2000
nvidia geforce 4 mx 460


manasus is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 09:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

L2 cache is like a super fast RAM contained on the CPU, and you loose ALOT of peformance with it disabled

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 10:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2

Yeah i know thats the annoying thing, i am losing a lot of performance by disabling it but its the only way I can get Xp to run without crashing.

So I just wondering can anyone tell me why disabling level 2 cache might cause XP to stop crashing?

My only idea is that it is something related to the power and my computer can't handle using the extra level 2 cache so it causes system failure.

My power fan and chassis fan are running below their threshold, does this mean they mighn't be cooling my cpu down enough?
manasus is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 10:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134

yea, it could be that it is overheating.
joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.