Why can't it just Back up!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2009, 12:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Why can't it just Back up!?

Well I want to back my computer up for the upcoming release of windows 7. I am doing a fresh reformat and install when it releases and want to back this machine up. Using the built in utility and my WD 250gb My Passport. It says there isn't enough space on the disk?! The back up size says 138.2gb and this is in NTFS format. What could be the problems? Should I try and get another internal drive and run raid or should I try to get a different external for this job?

I started with 245GB and after running back up utility it says there is a 138gb back up file on there. and there is only 92gb left on the drive. BUT the to visible files on there are like 580bytes and 0 bytes and those are computer and MediaID.bin.

If this helps any, I posted some screen shots of what is going on.



__________________

overlord20 is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 09:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Why can't it just Back up!?

i'd try clonezilla live cd. it'll create an image of the whole drive and compress it.

Clonezilla Live download
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 09:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Why can't it just Back up!?

Would you say creating an image of the drive with Clonezilla is better than using Windows Backup? How much does it compress? I have a 288GB Partition (C:\, it's a partition on the D drive, HP prebuilt came that way) but the drive I have to store my backups is around 32GB.
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 09-29-2009, 11:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Why can't it just Back up!?

Vista's backup is a POS and should never be used. I've tried it on two of my computers and neither ever worked. It either says there isn't enough space or the drive is not formatted properly.

I've read a few others places that the backup feature in Vista shouldn't be used because there are a ton of known issues with it.

Just use a free program, like the one mentioned above.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 12:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
overlord20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: spokomptan
Posts: 2,308
Default Re: Why can't it just Back up!?

I am going to try cobian. Let us hope this works.

Cobian Backup

cobian doesn't work. I do need to compress it. So I am going to try the one politics mentioned.
overlord20 is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 10:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Why can't it just Back up!?

Ok, I'll have to try Clonezilla then. Thanks Lex.
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 09-30-2009, 11:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Why can't it just Back up!?

Do you just need to backup files, pics, vids, program exe's, etc? If so you can use SyncBack which is free. Schedule it to run when you hit the sack and when you awake, it will be finished. Format that Passport and then let SyncBack do its thing. With that backup program you are backing up items you dont need.

2BrightSparks | Downloads
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 05:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: Why can't it just Back up!?

Yeah that's pretty much all I use it for. I'll give that a try then, thanks .
__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Old 10-01-2009, 07:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Why can't it just Back up!?

If I were backing up my OS partition I would use Ghost (or something similar), possibly Partition Magic. For any other partition I would just use Partition Magic. I already own them, so why not use them?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Restoring Steam Back Up Harper PC Gaming 5 09-17-2009 09:07 PM
Get back the ctrl-alt-backspace behavior in Ubuntu Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 1 07-31-2009 02:28 PM
Laptop Back light is dead. 35g700 Laptops and Notebooks 4 08-18-2008 07:12 PM
going back to XP from vista ollithemagicbum Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-12-2008 08:25 AM
HBO to Back Blu-ray Exclusively TheEnd187 Off Topic Discussion 14 01-13-2008 01:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.