why is AMD FX-53 so darn slow???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2004, 07:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 332
Send a message via ICQ to gizmo90
Default why is AMD FX-53 so darn slow????

im looking in to AMD series CPU's and i was looking at the AMD FX-53.....its is only 2.4 Ghz!!!! why is it so slow? ar they expecting for people to OC it???? tell me more! Thanx!
__________________

__________________
Want a Gmail invitation?? Email me at gizmo90@gmail.com

Funny or Stupid Videos...u choose!
gizmo90 is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 07:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

2.4GHz is fast for an AMD processor. See, AMDs use shorter pipes and therefore can do more instructions per tick of the clock, so they don't need as fast of a clock speed. The AMD 3200+ that I have only runs at 2GHz, but is equivalent in speed to a P4 3.2GHz.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Interestingly, and don't quote me here, but I was told that AMD's advertised clock speeds are an Intel equivelent; i.e the actual clock speed for a 2.2ghz AMD is about half of that (1.1ghz-ish), but basiclly it's just as fast as a 2.2 Intel (shorter pipelines etc). Therefore a 3.2 Intel indeed has a faster core clock speed than a 2.4 AMD (but the latest AMD's being 64-bit more than make up for it).....

Any thoughts anyone?
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

mine runs pretty darn fast
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Damn nice rig, Cappy
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 03:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

What are your benchmark scores, Cappy
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 06:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DoomUK
Interestingly, and don't quote me here, but I was told that AMD's advertised clock speeds are an Intel equivelent; i.e the actual clock speed for a 2.2ghz AMD is about half of that (1.1ghz-ish), but basiclly it's just as fast as a 2.2 Intel (shorter pipelines etc). Therefore a 3.2 Intel indeed has a faster core clock speed than a 2.4 AMD (but the latest AMD's being 64-bit more than make up for it).....

Any thoughts anyone?
Hahaha, i quoted you. anyways, the equivalent is for the name of the AMD chip, not the actual speed. like my AMD Xp 2400 on my old comp is a 2.4 equivalent, but in reality the clock speed is 1.99ghz. so, the actual clock speed is right, the numbers in the name system is wrong. ie, the AMD 3200s are supposed to match an Itel 3.2, but in reality runs slower, but makes up for it.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 06:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

64-bit capability does not have an impact on the comparisons with Intel.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 06:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
but I was told that AMD's advertised clock speeds are an Intel equivelent
dern someone already beat me to it, but yeah what he said...it's the name of the chip you go by.

Quote:
im looking in to AMD series CPU's and i was looking at the AMD FX-53.....its is only 2.4 Ghz!
Obviously an intel advocate...do some research before you start callin chips out slow...that AMD's already do more instructions per clock cycle as it is...much less with a 64bit chip. That's why I don't like Intels they are overpriced and get people like you hung up on the Gigahertz of the processor....which at this day in age the clockspeed of your chip is only one of many factors on how good of a machine you really have.

Intels use numbers to their advantage for people like you that don't know about AMD and just see 2.4GHz and you're think 'Psht well intel has 3.4GHz amd sucks' which is exactly what they want you to think...that 64bit has awesome power...and it doesn't need to be any faster than 2.4GHz because it can already withstand it's ground compared to a 3.0GHz+ Intel.....lol in another forum a guy said he liked intel cause they had 'Cooler chip setnames' and stuff like 'Hyper-threading' lol
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 07:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Hmmm... nope, I'm sure it's the clock speed which is the Intel equivelent. Taking my CPU as an example, it's the equivelant to a 2.17ghz Intel, not a 3.0ghz...
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.