why is AMD as fast as INTEL - Page 10 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2004, 07:14 PM   #91 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
AMD CPU's aren't really as good with numbers than Intel, but they are better with gaming
I would say that AMD design their CPU's with the gamer in mind

it would still lag in wireframe mode because it is the CPU that processes all the polygons before the video card colours and shades them
Games are with numbers
They do this equation for every pixel in every frame of the game.
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 07:16 PM   #92 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

Intels are also good for filling trash cans and putting your wallet on a diet!!
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 08:22 PM   #93 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah heavy duty games do require lots number crunching. This is why durons and now semprons arent really meant for games because they can't crunch those numbers as quickly. You could run a program like SuperPI which calculates math and gives you an estimate of how long it took so that gives you a fair guess on how fast and well a processor can handle calculations.

Quote:
Intels are also good for filling trash cans and putting your wallet on a diet!!
I second that!
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 08:51 PM   #94 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 125
Default

I have a 3.2ghz Intel and even the newest best games run perfectly smoothly in Single Player and Multiplay on highest settings and everything. I understand AMD gets significant benchmark score for games over Intel, but noticable gameplaying differences don't seem significant, is it really that necessary? Now I know I can run my games at perfect speed and also know that my important programs like PHotoshop 8 can be noticably diffferent with Intel. So with Intel I am getting the best of both? I am not very techy so I know something is wrong probably. Maybe someone could correct me?
Esse is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 03:40 AM   #95 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

I am closing this thread because we now have a sticky about AMD vs Intel thread. click here

Any other AMD vs Intel threads will either be closed completely or joined into the sticky thread.

Admins or other mods please PM me if there is a disagreement with this. I beleive that is why the sticky was made....correct?

--jak
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.