Why am i getting DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_THAN_EQUAL_TO BSOD's??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2005, 05:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default Why am i getting DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_THAN_EQUAL_TO BSOD's???

this ONLY happens when i have Azureus on

for those who don't know that it is, it's one of the biggest Bit Torrent clients (meaning it downloads .bittorrent files)

it's a java client and takes up around 70,000kb in task manager

SOOOOOOO......:

after waking up this morning, i decided to play half an hour of CS....nothing happened

then i went on some sites in firefox...nothing happened

then i open up Azureus for some P2P action while i try to get some work done

well ten minutes later, i heard my computer make a loud noise, so i come back and saw that it restarted...ok...so i open Azureus again

about 10 minutes later, my computer restarts again, so this time i open it and sit in front my my monitor and watch it

about 10-20 minutes later, i get the DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_THAN_OR_EQUAL_TO bsod (i'm pretty sure this is it...it showed it pretty fast and just restarted)

tttthen i left my computer on for half an hour idle and nothing happened, so i came to the conclusion that Azureus is causing this

but why? what does it have anything to do with drivers? hundreds of thousands of people use Azureus and it's probably fine with them...so why am i getting this?
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

try using a different bt client, like bitlord, or bitcomet. maybe it is something to do with your internet, rather than Azureus itself. try browsing the internet for a while as see what happens. the bsod could be relating to the modem drivers. what sort of internet connection do you have?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

maybe you downloaded some crap with spyware and viruses that infected azureus
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 05:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

That specific BSOD usually has something to do with running dual processor or HyperThreading type stuff. I used to get that with some programs or drivers that weren't used to SMP enabled systems.

EDIT: nvm, I see you have an AMD. *shrug* No idea then
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 06:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I have had that problem before, turned out to be a broken connection between the molex connector and HDD and my HDD kept losing power and getting it back fast enough to keep the machine running but sometimes windows would see it as a serious problem and shut down. Little solder fixed the problem lol.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 10:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

1.) i got a cable connection
2.) no spyware, no virus; i've checked my system with adadware spybot s'n'd, AVG, and avast! and the files i'm downloading are large files with hundreds of seeders and thousands of leechers with people replying that it works (well there's was like 20+ pages of feedback..)
3.) haven't tried different clients yet..but most of them are much slower than azureus though :\
4.) this ONLY happens when the computer is idle...few hours ago i turned on azureus and i was using my computer for like an hour with azureus on..nothing happened, then i turn off my monitor, walk away from my computer, got a drink (took like 30-45 seconds or so) and when i came back the computer restarted
5.) ughh...i hope i don't have your problem charles
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 07-17-2005, 11:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

You don't because my hard drive lost power more often when it was being used. Have you tryed backing up your files and doing a reformat?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 02:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL means you have a driver problem somewhere. it means the driver is instructing your OS to try and access an address value higher than what's actually there.

it only happens in Azures, so it means that some hardware Azures is using does not have very good drivers.
I would say network card, because it uses your internet connection, although Firefox runs fine, so it might be something else.

just try installing newer (or older if you've already got the latest ones) drivers for everything one at a time, checking with Azures if it BSOD's, and if it stops BSODing, you've found which device it was
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 03:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Thats probably the reason i recived the error when my hard drive would lose power like that, because my drivers eventually became corrupt with that crap going on
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 12:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

google define: irql

An internal priority level table used by the kernel to manage interrupt sources, such as hardware or software. Software interrupts are assigned the lowest priorities with hardware interrupt levels assigned higher priorities by the hardware abstraction table (HAL). Only kernel mode threads can change IRQLs.
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.