Whoa look at my HD temp... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2004, 11:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default

lol cool
__________________

Chrisman88990 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 11:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default

Ok, got it runing, but it only has 1 temp. the HDD temp...Still cool, but I would like to see other temps. on there.
__________________

__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 11:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default

haha, lol i don think its realy that hott, must just be a glytch or sumthing. can anyone say MELTDOWN!!...lol ( i can just picture my HD getting so hot the outside of it like turns red..) lmao..


This reminds me of that commercial on TV, that aol one were they offer that stupid virus protection were the guy goes " i wish my hard drive would fry like bacon" or sumthing like that, hilarious commercial..
Chrisman88990 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 11:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default

Are those other temps. on your thing fans or what?
__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 11:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default

Temp 1 is my CPU fan, temp 2 and 3, i have no clue, and 4 is my HD...
Chrisman88990 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 11:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default

Did you do anything different when you installed it or something? Because I also have no voltages on mine...
__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 11:46 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default

no man i just installed it, just for sumthign to do cause i was bored, im not like all into it or anything
Chrisman88990 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 11:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default

I see...
__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 12:40 AM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KnowNothing
Ok, found out how to get the program, but now...How do I control the fan speeds? My fan doesnt seem to change. Im guessing its not compatible or something.
Most likely it wouldn't be the fans that are incompatible, it's probably just your motherboard. The only way SpeedFan can control fan speeds is if you have the right motherboard AND if the fan is plugged directly into the motherboard.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 05:31 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you can get fan speed controllers, some of them fit in a PCI bracket, basically it controls the amount of power that goes into the fan.

less power = goes slower
more power = goes faster

the max speed the fans can do with them is the same as the 'normal' speed when not using them

you can also get ramsinks and put some on your hard drive; I had some spare when I put some on my video card, so I put one on the cache chip of my Seagate 160GB; it used to get pretty hot, but it doesn't anymore
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.