who knows if kingston ram (KVR-533D2S4/1G) work on Dell Inspiron 9300 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2005, 07:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Talking who knows if kingston ram (KVR-533D2S4/1G) work on Dell Inspiron 9300

Hello everybody. I need help now.
Who knows if the kingston value ram, model# kvr-533D2S4/1G, work on the Dell laptop 9300?

link
__________________

fallleaver is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xenosoul
Default

It wont work with a laptop. For laptops you need so-dimm ram.
__________________

xenosoul is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 08:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

So dimm? sounds funny
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 08:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

my outlook on life is so-dimm

har har cheesey play on words
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 08:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default

oh man~~
it is so-dimm ram.
I called kingston twice and I get two answers.
First girl said the ram may not compapable with that laptop, and second one said it of course can not work at all. Her suggestion is to buy another one model# KTD-INSP6000A/1G, but the price is much higher than value ram.
I don't know kingston how to train these girls~~~~~~I almost wanna killl myself.

So, nobody tried it before?
fallleaver is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 01:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 22
Default Re: who knows if kingston ram (KVR-533D2S4/1G) work on Dell Inspiron 9300

Quote:
Originally posted by fallleaver
Hello everybody. I need help now.
Who knows if the kingston value ram, model# kvr-533D2S4/1G, work on the Dell laptop 9300?
Hey i know iam going off topic. But since you own a Dell inspiron 9300 which i wanna buy. Can you give me some heads-up, regarding the deal you got, fetaures, and experience of owning this model. Thanks!!
rohanbee is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 01:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
So, nobody tried it before?
Tried what? It's physically impossible to fit desktop RAM in laptop So-dimm RAM slots...did you even look up pics, so-dimm is squatted and smaller.
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 01:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I am sorry Nubius, but if you go to kingston.com and put in the model number, you will find this is a DDR2 533MHz Ram for laptop. Or you can just easily search picture on google. I don't know if you have time to do that, but I really don't understand why nobody wanna click their mouse to find out the true.

All right, here is the link
fallleaver is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 02:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6
Default Re: Re: who knows if kingston ram (KVR-533D2S4/1G) work on Dell Inspiron 9300

Quote:
Originally posted by rohanbee
Hey i know iam going off topic. But since you own a Dell inspiron 9300 which i wanna buy. Can you give me some heads-up, regarding the deal you got, fetaures, and experience of owning this model. Thanks!!
I only can tell you this computer is good. 17 inch lcd is nice for me to do graphic work and Ati X300 is fair for 3D. But it is very expensive to get big ram on Dell.com. 700 or 750 for 2GB ram. As a result I try to find ram from another seller. If you want me to say something bad about the laptop, I would say it is to heavy...
fallleaver is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 03:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ahh well **** dude, its SO-DIMM RAM so yeah that fits into a laptop (and I now see where you confirmed it to be so-dimm but I read the sentence wrong)....the only thing you gotta worry about is if your laptop is new enough to support DDR2.....the only reason I had said it's physically impossible is from people saying "you need sodimm" which I thought meant that you had regular desktop RAM...no need to get all "meh why cant people search jeez, flippin idiot" napoleon dynamite on me. Besides I could easily say the same to you and say google up your title Dell Inspiron 9300 and look at the specs which say:

"RAM technology DDR SDRAM "

Notice how that does NOT say DDR2 like your RAM specs are......wont work.......of course theres the ever popular throw it in and see if it boots method as well.

but theeeeeeeeeeen on another site which is dells homesite:

http://www1.us.dell.com/content/prod...pecstab#tabtop

it says "256 MB of DDR2 SDRAM standard, upgradeable to 2 GB maximum" which does confirm DDR2 capabilities....other site SUCKS then, so then yes it should work unless your laptop is a FREAKtop or something

Quote:
256 MB of DDR2 SDRAM standard, upgradeable to 2 GB maximum

Optional DDR2 dual-channel SDRAM

2 SoDIMM sockets, both are user-accessible
Dell makes it sound like theres both desktop RAM slots AND SO-Dimm slots....but yeah...it should work
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.