White dots in games - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 01:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Phyco
Default White dots in games

System Specs:
  • ASUS A8V Deluxe
  • AMD 64 3800+
  • ATI Radeon 9800XT 256mb
  • Corsair 2 gig DDR 3200 XMS Dual Channel
  • Wester Digital 250 gig & 80 gig
  • Windows XP Pro SP1

The Problem:
When I first got Doom 3 I noticed white dots on the screen, at first I was like what the hell it's only one game and didn't care. Bu then it started showing up in HL2 and Battlefield 1942. These aren't texture curroptions because the dots are on random points and flicker from one point to another.

I've come to the conclusion that this might have been caused by my graphics card over heating because I have swapped my card with my old TNT2 and 9800 Pro.

Now if it is the heat which im sure on, I was looking into buying something to fix the problem, maybe a fan thing that goes into my pci slot or a mount on heat sync. Thing is removing the heatsync is risky and I don't want ot harm my card.

Any suggestions or may the be caused by something else?
__________________

Phyco is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Have you tried updating your video card drivers? Just a guess, it might work. I don't think the heat does that, unless it's boiling. lol
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Phyco
Default

Yea I got the latest ones right now, i even do a clean install of the drivers too just in case
Phyco is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 03:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Does sound like overheating. If you get a new cooler and it doesn't fix problems though then I'd say permanent damage was caused and you'd need to RMA it
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 04:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

If these 'white dots' are obviously something other than regular aliasing, then these 'artifacts' come due to your GFX card overheating. What temperature does your 9800 run at when under load? Have you overclocked anything?

Getting a better cooler may be the best option, but in the meantime try cleaning out dust from inside your PC's case, especially from any fans/heatsinks. Also try leaving the side panel off your case to improve airflow.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 05:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what settings are you running your games at?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 08:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 143
Default

Those white dots are artifacts, caused by a faulty card.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.4Ghz \"Winchester\" 939 pin
Asus A8V Deluxe rev 2.0 Bios 1010.003
2x 512 3200 Corsair Twin XMS Dual Channel
120GB 7200rpm Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 2MB cache
160GB 7200rpm Seagate Barracuda SATA 8MB Cache Configured for RAID 0+1
Chaintec Geforce 6800 @ 411Mhz Core, 877 Mhz memory
Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
MSI DVD ROM
MSI CD-RW
450Watt PSU
17inch Samsung monitor
Rayne is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 01:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Phyco
Default

Rayne, I can't have 2 faulty cards...

I haven't overclocked anything and I run my games at high since my system should take them with fair frames per second.

Not sure how to find the temperature on my cards though sorry. Also remove the side panel and putting a fan next do it does sort of fix the problem.
__________________

Phyco is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.