Where is the best SWAP file location? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Which Big Brother 6 Guest On The Chopping Block, Do You Think Will Be Gone.
James 1 100.00%
Sarah 0 0%
Voters: 1. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2005, 08:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default Where is the best SWAP file location?

Where is the best SWAP file location in terms of speed and stability?
__________________

piggysmile is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

you need another option

4) get more ram so you dont use the swap file.

regardless of where you store it, if your system ever has to go to use the swap file.. Like in the middle of a game or something, your system will grind to a halt.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default

i know that. adding more RAM is an exception here.
piggysmile is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

put it on a second hard drive, not a second partition on the first hard. it will alway work better like this. it you want to get get slick make a partition just for it. it will really be fast this way
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

making a separate partition also keeps it off the rest of the drive,so that when it gets full, you'll still have a full swap space

I think if you really wanted to get right down to it, putting it near the beginning or inside of the drive will be faster than near the perimeter tracks too,but the diff is probably almost too small to measure
horndude is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 12:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I got it at the beginning of my only sata drive (160 gig second storage dr)
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.