When will parents learn? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2004, 01:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default When will parents learn?

My parents want a new computer, but unfortunately they don't trust me to build them one, they're insisting on getting a name brand package deal. If you had to recommend one brand, which would it be? Also, so I can tell my dad, how much of a performance difference is there between a package deal brand and a custom built? I've heard that the reasons Compaqs or HPs or anyone else has slow computers is because they use crappy parts and power supplies that don't allow the parts to run at full speed. Is that true?
__________________

PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 01:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yes, that is true about HPs and Compaq's. They will use PC2100 RAM on a processor with a 400MHz FSB. This will cause the FSB to syncronise with the PC2100, slowing the system down tremendously. They will also include a 5400RPM HDD with a 2MB buffer, which totally sucks. Try to convince them to let you build one for them, but if you can't, convince them to get it custom built at a local "mom-and-pop" computer store in your area.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

actually hp uses asus boards 2700 ram and western digital hd's
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Have you built your own computer ? If you have why wouldn't they trust you ?
Northbridge is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 02:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Dude, get a Dell.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 02:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

my parents didnt trust me but now i have built about 5 computers in the last 2 monthes that work flawlessly. They still dont trust me though...
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 02:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

My dad is pretty skeptical, he just wants something that he won't have to fool with at all, and I've tried to make a case for building one, but he thinks that they'll break or not work properly. I've told him that it's not rocket science building one, but he knows nothing about them and would rather buy one. I saw an advertisement for a Dell the other day, a computer and monitor for $499. They were advertising how it was a pentium 4 2.66 GHz, which is nice, but I noticed in the small print that it had 128 MB of RAM. What a crock.
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 02:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

what do they want to use that computer for?if its just simple stuff like online browsing, maybe some video editing, not demanding games, etc.. then dell's are just fine..

but if uyour going to use it for grphic intense app's, gaming, editing, etc.. stay the hell away from brand name computers..
__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 03:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to bubba0315 Send a message via Yahoo to bubba0315
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrucialLabs
Dude, get a Dell.
bubba0315 is offline  
Old 07-08-2004, 03:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

In my view Dells would be so much better if they didn't cheat people on memory.
__________________

Northbridge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.