when i add a second hard drive the cd dissappers!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2005, 04:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default when i add a second hard drive the cd dissappers!!!

when i add a second hard drive the cd dissappers!!! and when i take it out the cd comes back whats this?????????????
__________________

__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 04:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

there's probably interference with the primary/secondary and master/slave settings

you gotta set your first hard drive as primary master, second hard drive as primary slave (change it with jumpers/bios)

your cd drive should be set as secondary master (in bios)

correct me if i'm wrong, but i think i'm pretty sure i'm right
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Bit more info please...
Are your hard drives sata or ide? If they're all ide, which channel are you attaching the second hard drive to & which channel is the CDROM on?
What is the master/slave config of both?
Samm is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

If this happens in Windows then it might be a drive letter thing, where the HD steals the CD drive letter because Windows assigns letters to HDs first.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 05:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

are your jumpers set properly?
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-02-2005, 07:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 335
Default

yea they r
__________________

__________________
MPFXB3

\"You can not dream yourself into character you must hammer and forge yourself into one\"



Bruce Springsteen
MikePB3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.