What's your biggest computer disaster? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2005, 08:10 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Actually geek squad is pretty good. They are (or were) there own seperate organization, and BB incoporated them.

They all need to be A+ certified, Net+ certifired, and Cicso WAN/LAN is prefered.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 08:29 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

An A+ Certificate isn't really much of an accomplishment, I'm pretty sure most all of the regulars on this forum could pretty easily obtain one. I've been considering taking the test for it, but the hard part is coughing up the money to write it. :P
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 08:31 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

never had one yet...
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 08:32 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

That geeksquad here is a bunch of BS, they came to a friends house to wire up his network... sadly they didnt know how to do it with his computer...

Oh and my worst computer disaster.... Loseing 300Gb worth of pictures, and then the complete system died...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 08:38 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Really? They set up a couple houses in my area pretty nicely.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 08:39 PM   #26 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I destoyed a HD when I was trying to set up a multi-boot with SuSE 7 Pro, Win 95b, 98SE, ME, 2kPro and XP a few years ago.

This other problem scared the hell out of me: http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=35390

But I solved it: http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=36985
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 08:40 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
An A+ Certificate isn't really much of an accomplishment, I'm pretty sure most all of the regulars on this forum could pretty easily obtain one. I've been considering taking the test for it, but the hard part is coughing up the money to write it.
Yeah pretty much. I have a friend who is technically A+ certified, but he never kept up with it, so now as far as hardware goes I know pretty much way more than him. But yeah the $$$ for the test is where it gets ya. Other than that like you said I'm sure most people here could pass it, it just seems like a fancy term now-a-days

Quote:
Loseing 300Gb worth of pictures,
musta been porn, I can't see having 300gb of family photos on my computer but then again I prefer movies
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 09:13 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 122
Default

hmm, honestly the biggest disaster I ever had, was: If I can remember right, I was helping a n00b build his first pc. I left the room and figured he could get the cpu and heatsink in properly. I came back, and the pc was done. I told him good job, and to move on to OS installment. Everytime it turned on though, it would run for about 10 seconds, and shutdown. Well, it turns out that he put the heatsink on backwards... the processor overheated, you get the idea (Kentucky Fried Processor)...
__________________
Quote:
In the eyes of Bill Gates, the open source world seems un-activated...
geffin is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 09:35 PM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Hey, i live in KY :-p But umm yea, most of that 300 was porn... And to think im 32k......
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 09:55 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

haha... thats a crapload!!

all this talk about HDs failing is getting me scared! I don't back up anything but my checkbook program and Palm Pilot!! lol.. what would the cheapest way of backing up be? I have a 250gig hd but only 18gigs of used space (yeah i dont have very much). What would be the cheapest way?
__________________

Pilotwings119 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.