Whats wrong with my hardware?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Legion2005

In Runtime
I put this in the PC Gaming section... and nobody seemed to he helping. When I posted I didnt see this hardware zone... maybe someone could help me.....

Ok, just to let you know, I am not a complete newbie to computers. I am 16, and have custom made my PC. Heres what I put in it:
Asus A7V8X-X Motherboard
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ CPU
512 MB of cheapest Kingston RAM (not sure what speed)
GeForce FX 5700 128 MB Vid Card... ummmm that should be good
30 GB 7200 RPM Seagate... I have windows and music on this
80 GB 7200 RPM Seagate... I have games and backup on this
I DO defrag when win2k tells me to
onboard sound and lan, and the rest blaa blaa blaa
I have the most recent drivers for vid card, and drivers installed from cd for motherboard.

Some of my games are really bugging me. I really like Morrowind. My old motherboard processor and ram I gave to my brother. Some Abit motherboard AMD Athlon XP 1800+ and 512 MB of RAM. He has a 32 MB GeForce MX. Morrowind is working better on his computer than mine. I tried Reinstalling, and the problem still isnt working. I put the view distance down, and I am still only getting about 25 FPS. Sometimes it will jump up to 90 FPS.
Morrowind will also act like it is crashing, but it starts to work again when outside. I think it might be loading areas, but my hard drive is calm. Also when I go indoors, it loads fast. But when I go outdoors, my brothers computer goes about 4x faster.

Battlefield 1942 is outragiously not working. Every 2 or 3 seconds there is a major jerk in preformance. I set the AI all the way down, and the graphics all the way down also. This jerk wont go away. My FPS are about 60 when graphics are all the way down and resolution is 640X480.