What's wrong with my computer? Not enough RAM or the Processor or what? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2005, 08:41 AM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default

hey guys, i've done a clean sweep already...

I REFORMATTED AND REINSTALLED WINDOWS XP...

Do you guys think it's the RAM, or the processor?

Are either of these things near the power supply (possible fryage)?
__________________

rocket1406 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 08:43 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

do you mean you just did it after posting or are you adding this info now? if you did it does it seem any better?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 08:49 AM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default

I reformatted it after the initial pictures...

There were 3 Initial Pictures: Those are pre-reformat

Then there are 2 post-reformat pictures

All in this thread.

Look at the later ones and you see that reformatting didn't do anything....

which means it's either the processor or the RAM as people here have suggested.

***NOTE: There is no cheap place for me to get RAM. eBay is the cheapest (512 MB for $89). The reason is because I have a stupid Compaq Presario 5330US, which does not accept general RAM.
rocket1406 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 09:01 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

im sorry i did not see that post. i would try and get a hold of some RAM somewhere were you can return it if it turns out not to be the problem whether it be from a friend or from a store with a loose returns policy (some stores will accept hardware back within 7 days no questions asked). that way you can test it and eliminate it as the cause without spending $120
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 09:37 AM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default

hey NiteStick,

Do you know any stores offhand?

It's memory for the COMPAQ PRESARIO 5330US.

Gosh, I wish it was general memory like every other computer.
rocket1406 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 09:39 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default

I found this and ONLY THIS on eBay...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...Name=WD1V&rd=1

89.99 Free Shipping
rocket1406 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 09:41 AM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default

I found this using FROOGLE:

http://www.techexcess.net/ProductInf...tid=P5300L-ABA

$68.02 (including shipping)

512 MB
rocket1406 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 09:43 AM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default

Last site found through FROOGLE:

http://www.upgradememory.com/product...egory_ID=10014

84.97 (but no free shipping)
rocket1406 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 09:53 AM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 160
Default

ripoff Compusa

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...865&pfp=SEARCH

$98.99 for 256 MB RAM


It looks like that www.techexcess.net is my best bet ($68.02 for 512 MB RAM)
rocket1406 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 12:19 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

you might have fried something when you had your psu crash.. see if you can borrow another psu from someone with the same pc and connect it to your pc. if it works, we know the problem. if not, gotta keep looking.
__________________

jnev_89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.