what's wrong with my computer? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2003, 04:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via Yahoo to rezurrectme

If your ethernet cable is attached during or soon after reinstallation of windows, there is a chance of getting a worm infection through Internet Explorer. It wouldn't hurt checking worms out, as it would be much easier an exercise than all the hardware reshuffling you plan to undertake.


<html><body bgcolor=\"#EEF2F6\" text=\"#000000\" id=\"all\" leftmargin=\"0\" topmargin=\"0\" marginwidth=\"0\" marginheight=\"0\" rightmargin=\"0\" link=\"#000020\" vlink=\"#000020\" alink=\"#000020\">
<font face=tahoma, size=-1 color=903000>
<p align=justify>
ASUS A7N8X-X*AMD Athlon XP-2400+*512MB DDR PC3200 Memory*ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB DDR*52X24X52 LG CD-RW*16X LG DVD-ROM*80GB WD 7200 / 8MB Cache*Onboard Realtek Sound*AOpen QF50C -Blue Beige*Yamaha YST-MS201 Speakers
*Samsung Syncmaster750s*Windows 2000 Professional (SP4)
rezurrectme is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 04:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00

ok in xp press ctrl+alt+del and go to processes and see whats running somthing is running and is eating up cpu....als whats system specs

Knight of the Roses
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Old 10-28-2003, 04:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6

The problem is that it's running so slow that every time I open a new window, the window will take all the CPU usage. It's like running xp on a PII machine.
free2run is offline  
Old 10-29-2003, 01:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6

I checked the settings of the Bios and made some changes. It is working now. It's like that the Bios settings were changed by some reasons, (such as shutting it down during it's rebooting?), which dramatically slowed down the speed of the machine.

Thank you all! I learnt a lot here.......
free2run is offline  
Old 10-29-2003, 07:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 127

Glad I could help

fiezk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.