What's the story with this mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2005, 11:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default What's the story with this mobo?

I'm gettin ready to order, and I was going through one last time checking stuff to make sure everything was compatible before sending away my hard earned money. Now I was glancing over this gigabyte motherboard, and I looked at the power connector. It has 20 pin, and 24 pin kinda. The last 4 pins are capped off with a black thing. I was wondering what kind of compatibilty action was going on here.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128288

Here's what I've assumed on my own, correct me if I'm wrong.
I think 24 pin PSU's are compatible with 20 pin.
I know 20 pin is compatible with all 20 pin.
I Know the 24 pin is compatible with the 24 pin.

But the question is... are 24 pin PSU's compatible with this 'capped' 24 pin connector? The black thing looks highly removable. Do these ports serve a function if they were originally capped? Will the motherboard be fully functional with only a 20 port power unit?

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

okay, I answered my own question. Thanks anyway guys.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 02:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

PSU's are now being designed to support PCIexpress motherboards. And with PCIexpress comes SLI and Crossfire. Plus MOBO's are being Designed with more options and features, 4 more pins have been added to the once standard 20 and eventually 24 will be the standard.

Some MOBO's come with 20PIN and 4 capped for 24PIN PSU support. Just as you are describing. If you have this type of MOBO, but only have a 24pin PSU, remove the 4 pin cap, everything will work just as it should. But, if you have a 24 pin PSU and only a 20 pin MOBO, forget it.
If you have a 24PIN MOBO, and only a 20 PIN PSU, forget it it's not going to work.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 03:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

i wouldnt get the mobo i would get the nforce 4 or the nforce 3 board not VIA
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.