Whats the point of having 2 video cards? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2005, 07:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default Whats the point of having 2 video cards?

I've seen some people's systems with 2 video cards. So whats up with that? Whats the point of having two video cards?
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 07:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

furture proofing your computer.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 07:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

But does it like, increase video quality more than just one card would?
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 07:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

yes in someways if your making a gaming computer its like frture proffing it for the new game that are coming out, that are going to support SLi.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 07:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

2 is better than 1.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 08:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Having two video cards in your computer gives you (theoretically) twice the video performance (Meaning games will run twice as fast or smooth). Of course its only like 75% or something, but it is still very significant. Nvidia and ATI, the main videocard companies, each have their own way of increasing performance by using two cards. Nvidia calls their solution SLI, while ATI calls theirs Crossfire. If you search for theses technologies on google you will find all the information you could ever want.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 10:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Thanks lol. That cleared up a lot of stuff for me. I didn't know SLi and Crossfire were those, lol. So the extra $ for another video card is worth it? How about two different video cards, would those be compatible?
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 10:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

only crossfire can do that ati, they can use 2 different tpyes of ati cards. YOu cant mix ati with nivdia. KNow with Nivdia you have to you the same like 6600gt asus with another 6600gt asus. Get what im saying, it has to be with the same company for Nivdia you also have to use the same 2 card and manufactors too. And yes it is worth they extra money if you can get it. Or you can at least get one card and later get the same 2nd card.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 10:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

I don't think it's really justified. By the time you actually "need" the power of 2 vid cards (as opposed to one), the next generation card prolly would be the same price you spent before on ur original cards.

So you can just ebay off your old card and get a new one when the time comes IMO. SLI just feels like a waste of $$.

It's retarded, the whole concept of it. If they really want 2 GPUs, they should integrate both on the same bloody card. Will be much more efficient than 2 different cards
Chankama is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 10:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

you also need a motherboard that supports SLi or crossfire.
__________________

SteveGTA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.