what's the normal tempatures for a PC are mine too hot? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2005, 01:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 67
Default what's the normal tempatures for a PC are mine too hot?

First off nice place second I hope I put this in the right area.

I am wondering if my PC is too hot and I need fans my video card is running at about

51c and my CPU is running at 51c I have a ATI Radeon 9000 pro 128 my CPU is a amd

2400+ anybody that helps thanks

Edit if it is too hot what kind of fans should I get for the video card and the CPU?

LoneWolf is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 02:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn

seems about average for a amd processor.

check new egg for after market heatsynk/fans, look at the reviews...that kind of thing. i'm sure someone will recoomend a good one though in this thread....

arctic silver thermal paste between the processor and heatsynk does wonders as well.

that was for the cpu...not really into the the video card coolin'....but seems that 51 for a video is very well.???
correct me if i'm wrong people....

[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 03:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

video cards get much hotter than CPU's...todays newer cards hit 85C like nothing.

for a 2400+ XP your temps seem fine especially if it's stock cooling. Whats your full load temp though that's more important than idle.

If it's hitting 60C technically it's fine, but I'm anal about those sort of things and would atleast try to get it down to 55C or lower
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 10:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Those temps are ok

Personally since you have components that are not worth much anymore, your far better off simply using them how they are, and if they overheat so be it.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 01:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

I've started OCing a X800XT PE from 520/560 to 550/600 - my temps are now running 60-65 in LOAD "DOOM 3" monitored by rivatuner. I'm using a ATI Silencer 4 & AS5 to cool it.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 01:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349

lol DJ, not everyone needs a high performance machine. so i bet a lot of variouse ppl would value a 2400+. i know the 2400+ is better then what im using right now.

*DJ-CHRIS Gets added to his list*

LoneWolf - your ambient room temperatur is also improtant info when talking about cpu temp. becuase if your cpu is 51*c in a 65*F room. it will be something like 61*c when the room is 80*F , witch would be something like 68*c full load. (i used *F for room temp, because im in America and thats how the weather is reported, and im just use to estimating with it)

when i assembled a xp 3000, i used this cheapo masscool hsf ( http://www.ewiz.com/detail.php?name=FAN-5T321B ) and Arctic silver 5. and the 3000 ran at 34*c at 60*F room temp, and 45*c at 75~80*F room temp.

i dont know what the stock HSF looks like for an AMD, because i got that cheap masscool, but i bet it looks pritty similar. you could probablyl just lower your cpu temperatur by removing and cleaning off the Thermal Pad that was used, and apply Arctic Silver 5 instead.
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 09:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 67

Wow you guys are the ****. Seriously thanks for all the help will do hell I would upgrade

My system to an AMD 64 I even already have the new operating system but the reason I

Haven’t is because my friend said a lot of programs didn’t work on it did a little bit of

surfing the web and found a lot of issues and a lot of guys showed me the new 64bit OS

and it looks just like windows pro the same but I guess it supports the 64bit chip but a lot

of programs don’t run plus there’s the fact that I wouldn’t really use it since I don’t play

most of the games that are out today mainly because I don’t care for them much I just like

my 2ghz I guess. Wow really that’s normal strange it seems so damn hot to me ill do

what you guys said to do with the paste thanks again.
LoneWolf is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 09:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312

you dont need the 64bit windows if you have a 64 bit cpu.
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 09:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954

I'm running an AMD 2000+ w/ stock cooling. I get 48 idle, 44 case.

Doing video conversion I got it up to 55C, but that's the highest that I have seen (I usually don't run MBM).

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 11:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804

OK im behing times when the hell did a 64bit OS come out i thought longhorn was goign to... but maybe ive been away for too long lol.

Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.