whats faster ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2005, 07:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default whats faster ?

2 74 gb 10,000 rpm hard drives in raid 0 or
1 146 gb 10,000 rpm hard drive?
__________________

__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

1 146 gb 10,000rpm?
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 169
Default

i dont like the ? at the end. are you sure about that?
__________________
coming soon

x blade case
antec true power 550 watt power supply
amd x2 dual core 4400+
1 gig ddr400 memory
gigabyte 4x dual layer drive
nvidia 7800 gtx 512mb
gigabyte k8n pro sli motherboard
1 western digital 10,000rpm 74gb hard drive
1 western digital 320gb hard drive
devil_warrior is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

yea it should be faster because it takes less time to seach through 1 instead of 2
phosho510 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 47
Default

I would say 2x74GB drives... unless the big one has NCQ (native command queing)

Raid 0 is just like having one disk at 1.5-2x the speed. All data is split equally between the 2 and written/read almost silmoutaneously.
__________________
http://blog.gandmcomputers.com
http://hwa.gandmcomputers.com <- Check out the new benchmark competition on the block!
gregm is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 08:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

RAID 0 is striped, mean that the data's written more than once, correct? So the HDs can access it faster.
Still, as long as the 1 146 as long as it's SATA not PATA
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.