Whats the fasest processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2004, 10:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 95
Send a message via AIM to joebx902004
Default Whats the fasest processor

What is the Fastest processor for AMD and Intel

I think

AMD=Athlon 64 FX 53

Intel=Pentium 4 3.4GHz 800MHz 2MB Extreme

I don't know anything about XEON are they better???
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://www.geocities.com/counterstrikerx90/tnthis08.jpg \">
www.mushroomconnection.com
Believe in the Magic Shroom :)
joebx902004 is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 11:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

You're right about the intel chip being their fastest available chip. I'm not sure about AMD, but someone else could probably answer that. XEON CPUs are used in pairs for servers and high-performance workstations. The fastest XEON CPU you can get is 3.2 GHz.
__________________

Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-16-2004, 12:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

AMD processor speeds aren't as fast as Intel's at the moment. They are pretty close and when you could save a couple hundred bucks for similar performance.... no wonder AMD is gaining ground in the CPU world so rapidly.

The XEON processor is Intel's server line. The XEON is designed to be used in multiples for example, I have a server at work that has 8 Xeons and 8 GB of RAM. Needless to say this thing is huge but it has plenty of processing power.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-18-2004, 03:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 83
Default

would you be able to use all that in a home computer?!
PsychoticBoy is offline  
Old 05-18-2004, 03:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

No you wouldn't. Most applications that are used at home cannot take advantage of multiple processors. There are some exceptions, though.

Someone also told me once that windows cannot recognize more than 2 processors, so you may be limited on that as well. Windows may have gotten around that, though.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 05-18-2004, 06:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Xeon processors can be better if a program can recognize them, but you can't say a computer with two 2.8GHz Xeons has a an overall 5.6GHz clock speed.
It wouldn't perform as well as a single 5.6GHz processor, but you would see a marginal increase in performance.
Northbridge is offline  
Old 05-18-2004, 06:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

The P4 3.4ghz is faster.

The FX-53 owns it in mostly performance (especially in games).
WQ87 is offline  
Old 05-18-2004, 07:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Northbridge
Xeon processors can be better if a program can recognize them, but you can't say a computer with two 2.8GHz Xeons has a an overall 5.6GHz clock speed.
It wouldn't perform as well as a single 5.6GHz processor, but you would see a marginal increase in performance.
You don't understand the nature of SMP do you? The processors would still share a common I/O bus and memory subsystem. No matter how you look at it, the system resources are shared by MP. I own a dual system myself and I know it could outperform a high level p4. You have to remember even if a program wont use both cpu's the most important thing will, the operating system. So even if program "A" doesn't support SMP, if processor number 1 is busy it has processor 2 do the work. That's just a very simple example. In reality the operating system already has the resources divided, such as one chip will take care of threading while the other does math, or it will have one chip take care of certain process's critical to the OS while the other takes care of non-prioritized things. This is why an SMP system is better than any single chip. Their is a reason why it is called multi-processing. Just because an app cant use both, doesn't mean the OS wont manage both cpus to increase performance. Also, when you have two processors your get double the IPC. One P4 could never beat the combined IPC power of two P3's. A dual P3 system could easily take two or more requests at once, where a P4 would not be able to do nearly as well.

Estimated example:
P3 can do 6 IPC
P4 can do 6 IPC

So 1 p4= 6 IPC
Two P3= 12 IPC

IPC= Instructions per cycle/clock.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 05-18-2004, 09:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 79
Default

see, you shouldnt really look at whats "faster"

Yes pentium IV has 3.4Ghz....but thats only at 32 bits
While the Athlon is slight slower.....but at 64 bit

So i would say athlon is much better then P4
oblivion is offline  
Old 05-18-2004, 10:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by oblivion
see, you shouldnt really look at whats "faster"

Yes pentium IV has 3.4Ghz....but thats only at 32 bits
While the Athlon is slight slower.....but at 64 bit

So i would say athlon is much better then P4
Well you also have to remember software has to support running in 64 bit. Also I would think running a larger line of code takes longer than running a line of code half that size...
__________________

ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.